We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt actually go!!”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    524
    248
    81
    63
See reviews for
138
473
132
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

When we arived at the ibis check in was fine. They told us we can check in and out at 12. So the day we were due to check out we went out and come back at 11.30 To find that are keys wouldnt work for the second time during are stay. We were just about to leave. When we had a phone call in the room remindig us that check out was 12. Then a few moments later the cleaner just walks in. I was disipointed with this. Rooms were good shame about the TV very few channels and signal was rubbish. But great location. And would like to stay again if. It didnt feel like they wanted to get rid of us.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dudeboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear 'dudeboy52' thank you for you feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was happy to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. But I was sorry to hear about the issues during your stay. I will speak to the team concern in person. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel was very disappointing the staff were really unhelpful bordering on being rude. I was told on arriving that bar snacks would be available when I asked for a menu 10 minutes later I was told that there wouldn't be anything available as there was a problem with the fridge.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that the menu was not available but as advised by our Team, the fridge had just broken up. We take food safey very seriously in our hotel, hence would not serve any items if we suspect that they are not up to our standards. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Friendly staff, very clean rooms, excellent breakfast, very central to everything in cardiff.
Staduim, cathedral. castle and shops all in walking distance. prking is within 5 minutes from the hotel and very cheap and safe.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for and it is clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vin2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear 'vin2308'. Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving your feedback on here. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your kind words with our Team. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

good location about ten mins from the strip . very comfy beds and nice rooms , paid £36 for a room and it's very good hotel for the price . would defiantly use again. go into hotel first for parking as right opposite is £18 but just round corner is £5 for 24 hours .

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_T_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Great tip regarding the car park. It is always good to speak to member of our team, so we can suggest different car parks around the hotel. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Have stayed here several times before, but not for about a year. With Ibis you know what you are going to get, and this delivered perfectly. Big room, clean and tidy, lovely bathroom and everything you'd expect. We paid in advance to have the breakfast, and it is a treat. Buffet style with plenty to choose from. Excellent. Staff very friendly and a great location - five minutes walk to the St Davids Centre and the Motorpoint Arena, and ten minutes to Queens Street.

Room Tip: While the big railway works are being done try to get room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilwernboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear 'gilwernboy', thank you very much for taking your time and leaving your feedback on here. It is always a plesure to read positive words. I will share your comments with my Team, who will be delighted and encouraged to delivering great service even more. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Ibis Cardiff for one night. We usually stay at premier inn but thought we would give the Ibis a try as it was a better deal. The location is Fab, it is about 1 minute from the arena, a few minutes from the shopping centre and the train station for the bay is a two minute walk. The hotel in itself is what you would expect for the price, the staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. The room's carpet and pictures were a little old fashioned but thats not a real complaint. They offered breakfast and food at the hotel in what looked like a little cafe, i cant comment on this as we did not use it. We did however purchase alcohol from the bar to drink in the room and the prices were fair. I would recommend this hotel and would use it again. It was quite different to the premier inn we are used to but for the price really cant complain.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chickaboo2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear 'chickaboo2912'. Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving your thoughts on here. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with my Team, who I am sure, will be very pleased too. We look forward to welcoming you in the future, Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing