We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Cardiff
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,272 results
Traveller rating
276
563
270
89
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
563
270
89
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotorpoint arenacity centreroom was cleanrailway linecar parkthe motor point arenaexcellent locationgreat showershort stayqueen streetfew minutes walkexcellent value for moneygood nights sleepdecent sizewould stay againtea and coffeestayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
646 - 651 of 1,272 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location is only five minutes from all the amenities of Central Cardiff, on the other hand it backs onto a railway (it's on an embankment so the trains are at second floor level) and fronts onto a busy road. The rooms are of a reasonable size and layout, the en suite is fine and the shower excellent: plenty of easy to control hot water. The included breakfast is generous and reasonable quality. Parking is in an NCP multi-storey just round the corner so not too far to carry your bags and is reasonably priced (about £6 for 24 hours). For a business trip or a short break when you want to be near the centre but not the midst of its "lively" night-life this hotel offers good value.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear 'Nigel A', thank you for taking your time and leaving your thoughts on here. I am glad that your stay was enjoyable. I look forward to receiving you in the near future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed overnight on a Sunday due to attending the Ventian themed dining night at Giovanni's Park Place. Check in was slick as usual, 2 rooms booked and next to each other which is always a bonus. Rooms nice and clean which included the bathrooms.

Had a few beers on returning to the hotel and chatted with the staff who are very friendly and helpful. When ever I can I now always stay here when in Cardiff, excellent location, close to shoppping, secure car parking in John Lewis, easy walking distance from the train station.

Room Tip: Prefer a higher floor away from the busy main road
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear ' Commz', thank you very much for you comments. I really appreciate your feedback. I have passed our opinion to my Team, who is happy to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you in the future, Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Booked this hotel for one night as we were in town to see a show at the New Theatre. We booked the hotel for its location as it was a 5 minute walk to the theatre. Overall we had a great stay check in was quick and easy, the rooms were a good size and were clean and the breakfast was fantastic. There is a carpark opposite the hotel which is £6 per 24 hours which was ideal for us. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyMCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear 'NancyMCoventry'. Thank you very much for your kind words. It is always a plesure to read positive feedback. Me and my Team hope that you will visit us soon again. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here on several occasions in 2014 and got to say both the hotel and staff are amazing...Beer in the bar is lovely and I managed to drink several pints with breakfast which is delicious..... Like I say staff were really friendly and will return....Room tip,ask to stay at back of hotel as rooms are quieter

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cheekymonkey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear ' Cheekymonkey2012'. Thank you for taking your time and leaving your thoughts on here. I am glad that you found out hotel and team to be amazing. We look forward to receiving you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Two day stay at the Ibis Cardiff to attend the fantastic Dolly Parton concert at the Motorpoint Arena, superbly located Hotel, car park was just around the corner, receptionist gave us directions and we thought the price for parking the car was fair for 24 hours.
Our springer spaniel thought the walk to the park was a long way but with poo bags to hand we went 3 times a day to the very nice castle park where he could run and have fun with other dogs. Our dog was made welcome at the Ibis, The room is basic but very clean, the air conditioning is a bonus due to the noise of the passing traffic, we had a front room. We ate at Bill's café just near J Lewis, excellent shopping centre in Cardiff. We found the whole experience very pleasant, enjoyed the 2 day tour bus pass which we purchased, we could hop on and off when it suited and left the car in situ, great city and people, enjoyed seeing all the youngsters leaving the Hilton in their posh frocks after their prom celebrations whilst walking Tigger at midnight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear 'Joan D'. Thank you for taking the time and leaving your feedback on here. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews