We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A handy but basic Ibis”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A handy but basic Ibis”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My second visit to this hotel. The first was 6 years ago and the hotel and its rooms have been refurbished, except for the bedroom carpet. Elsewhere Ibis have got rid of carpets and the one in my room at Cardiff was past its best, and with several stains. The new beds are very comfortable and I had two good nights sleep. The bathroom is Ibis standard and everything worked. The staff were welcoming and pleasant and the breakfast offered a good range of hot and cold items and is very good value for money. The hotel is well situated, 5 minutes walk to Queen Street station with frequent trains to the valleys and Cardiff Bay as well as to the main station and the resorts of Barry Island and Penarth. Numerous buses pass the hotel. The main shopping street is also 5 minutes walk away and there are numerous cafes and restaurants in the area. Recommended to others as a good budget hotel.

Room Tip: A bit of road noise on the west side but not enough to disturb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear 'Trevor 0510'. Many thanks for taking you time and leaving your thougths on here. I am glad that you had a good night sleep in our Sweet Bed by Ibis. I also noted your comments regaring carpet. Thank you for letting me know. Me and my Team would be happy to welcome you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    516
    239
    78
    60
See reviews for
135
461
129
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and the customer service was just as good as what it was last time. We brought the car this time and were pleasantly surprised that it was only £6.10 for 24hrs. Be aware though that the car park they recommend is not attached to the hotel and is a fair walk away. The car seemed secure though which was reassuring.
We were offered to book breakfast but not pressurized although I did wish that I had the following morning because it all smelt lovely.
This hotel continues to be a good choice for an overnight stay if you're off out for a meal/clubbing/concert etc however don't expect too much romantic ambience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear 'Rhiannon J'. Thank you for your time and leaving your feedback on here. I am very happy to hear that customer service met your expectaions. Please note that you can order breakfast on the day should you change your mind. Me and my Team will be happy to assist you during your next visit. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed in the Ibis at the beginning of the year to watch Wales v Italy rugby match. I like in Whitchurch myself but fancied a few drinks and decided too book here. Cheap and cheerful for one night. Nothing special but only wanted somewhere to rest my headd for a few hours after drinking all night!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear 'Mark P', many thanks for your feedback. I am glad that you had a good time in Cardiff and I hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A group of us stayed at the Ibis Cardiff over a weekend to celebrate my Fiancé's 21st birthday. The hotels location is ideal. Opposite the motor point arena and within walking distance of the city centre with all it's shops and nightlife.

The staff on reception were fantastic and we couldn't fault them, however, the quality of the rooms and the quality of the stay was not great.

Although me and my partner found out bed comfy, others in our group did not. It turned put we had a mattress topper, whereas they didn't. This shows the sense of inconsistency int he rooms. Not only this, but in one of the rooms there were blood stains on the sheets! To be fair to the hotel, within 5 mins, these were changed, but they should never have been set in there first place!

Also, on the morning after our final night, we had three knocks at the door from the housekeeping staff. At half 8, half 9 and half 10! On two of these occasions, they walked in despite us shouting for them to wait. Considering checkout wasn't until 12, you would have thought they would wait for us to check out before they attempt to clean the rooms? This was quite an annoyance.

The rooms were also very dated. The reason I say this is not value for money is because , for a little more than £10-20 more a night, you can stay in a 4 star, modern hotel just down the road (see my other reviews). Trust me, there is a big difference and it's worth the money.

Although the hotel did the job, it is not worth the money we paid. I know it is a budget hotel, but when you compare prices, it is not a budget price. I would recommend staying in the Radisson Blu hire just down the road. A little more expensive but high quality in all aspects!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear 'luke S'. Thank you very much for your feedback. I noted your comments regarding housekeeping and decoration. Please accept my sincere apologies. Thank you for letting me know, so I can now go back and speak to the team on duty. I hope to welcome you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Ibis hotel for a couple of nights. Great location: across the road from the motorpoint arena, close to lots of bars/ restaurants and walking distance to the city and train station. Lovely welcome, clean bathroom pod, comfy beds, little noisy next to the trainline but also a shame the cleaners can't make the bed to an exceptable standard; let alone take a hairbrush out of the bed before making it (not impressed). An otherwise acceptable stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nmorgan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear 'nmorgan91'. Thank you very much for your comments. I am happy that you found our Team to be welcoming and enjoyed sleep in our Sweet Bed by Ibis. I noted your comments regarding housekeeping. Thank you for letting me know so I can now go back and speak to them in person. I hope you will give us a chance to welcome you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Paid £189 for 3 nights in a city centre isn't too bad I don't think. The hotel was easy to get to (I drove) and though I didn't go shopping didn't seem to far from the central shops. Parking was available at an NCP round the corner at £6 for 24 hours. Though dropping bags off before hand is a nightmare as there is only a very small double yellow bay at the front, not ideal. The room was clean and comfy with hair dryer and tea and coffee facilities and a plug by the bed!! The hotel certainly wasn't anything fancy but was fine to sleep in (wouldn't want to spend much more time in there). Would be great if they could put a bin in the room as well as the bathroom and maybe describe their good better. I ordered a tuna melt which came FULL of sweetcorn which I hate!!!
Overall good base to sleep at but wouldn't recommend for long periods of time

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Born_yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear 'Born_yorkshire', Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel facilities. I was sorry to hear that you did not like our tuna melt. Thank you for this comment. I will pass it to our Food and Beverage Team. I hope to see you back in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We wanted a modest priced hotel convenient for Cardiff Central Station and the City Centre; couldn't have chosen better. 10mins steady stroll from station, 6mins into city. Clean, fresh looking building, Spacious reception and very welcoming staff. Rooms are adequately sized but the crowning glory is the shower room - spacious with large modern shower cubicle and fittings. If I have to find a negative...the air con fan was noisy on max setting. Didn't eat at the hotel but enjoyed a drink or two at the bar; has the main basics but not geared up for cocktails or anything exotic. Excellent value for money and would stay there again :-) For those wanting parking there's none on site but plenty close by and staff will direct to most appropriate. Added bonus 12noon checkout !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear 'Maggie M', thank you very much for taking your time and leaving your feedback on here. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words. It is a pleasure to receive positive comments. I will pass them to my Team who will be delighted to hear you found them welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing