We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Located and good value for money. A shame the tobacco smell”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Well Located and good value for money. A shame the tobacco smell”
Reviewed 2 March 2011

This is a nice hotel, on the budget and well located, in the heart of the city center. Nearby you'll get everything including nice shopping centers, the 2000 years old castle, the Millenium Stadium and so on.
If you want to visit the trendy pier you can catch a direct bus. You'll only have to cross the street.
If you're traveling by car I must warn you that the hotel does not have one but there's one across the street and two more just 5 minutes walking distance. The first one will cost you more or less £16,00 per day. The second one is more or less £12,00 and the last one, which is side-by-side whit the second one, is £5,50.
If you want to drive from the hotel to the pier it's a 8 to 10 minutes driving. By foot it will take you a bit more, something like 25 to 30 minutes but one way or another it's worth to visit it.
The breakfast was ok, big enough for us.
The rooms and bathrooms are roomy enough and provide you almost everything you need.
The only buts I can see here it's the strong smell of tobacco that was on our room and on the elevator. I can not understand it because it's a non-smoking hotel. How can this kind of things happen? They don't even disguised the smell with air-spray!
My parent's room didn't have the tobacco smell but we saw a plastic bag around the fire alarm so I guess that another guest smoked there and took its precautions and the cleaning staff didn't see.
We didn't say a thing to the staff about the tobacco smell though. Maybe we should have but it doesn't bother us enough to do it. It can bother other future customers though and that is why I am mentioning it.
Apart from that our stay was more or less quite and nice. It could have been more peaceful and quite if a sports team shouldn't have been staying at the hotel as they returned at 4am in the morning making lots of noise but that was nothing really serious.

If you want a well located, with no frills and on the budget hotel in Cardiff this can be a good option for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertChicGy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Many thanks for your comments; I have passed them on to the housekeeping department.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Regards,

Remi Van Reeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    508
    236
    78
    60
See reviews for
134
457
127
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Central for CIA - Shopping at John Lewis etc.and witihn walking distance of the station.
Rooms slightly larger than some Ibis hotels. very quiet - a crowd of young men obviously on some sporting trip arrived but heard nothing in the night at whatever time they got in!
I had a snack at lunch time - which was fine but don't think I would eat there in the evening. Eating area a bit spartan.
Breakfast was standard Ibis - usual selection of cooked items - and cold ham/ cheese etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank column99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your comments; I have passed them on to the team.
Looking forward to welcome you back!

Regards,

Remi Van Reeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 February 2011

l would recommend this central location for a trip to the City. It offers excellent access to all the attractions in the centre of Cardiff, from Castle to Shops. The rooms are v good for the price. The rear of the hotel is by the local rail line so can be effected by noise but it was not a problem to us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments.
Hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Regards,

Remi Van Reeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 February 2011

As we are Ibis cardholders we naturally think the Ibis Hotels are invariably good budget hotels and we have stayed in them all over Europe. The bedrooms and bathroom are modern and clean and the staff were welcoming and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent position for exploring the fantastic shopping in Cardiff, as well as most other attractions.
There was only one thing to criticise and that was the public toilets within the hotel situated just off the bar. The Gents toilet was completely closed and the two toilets in the Ladies were unusable as they were so unclean. We and our friends were forced to use the disabled toilet. However, I really was appalled that as that was on the Saturday night, the Gents was still out of order when we left on the Sunday afternoon and the Ladies was still in an unclean state. This really let the hotel down. Otherwise excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your review; we have taken actions to rectify the issues you encountered.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Remi Van reeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 February 2011

There was very little service, only hearing from the staff briefly when i checked in. The cleanliness wasn't too bad however there was something on the sheets we wasn't sure what it was. after paying £44 i expected for for my money, having only a little room and having to pay more just to watch the television. It was unclear what excess i'd have to pay or what was included in my room deal. Sleep was disturbed by the train right outside of my room early hours.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisCardiffGM, Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have spoken to the team, to prevent the issues you encountered during your stay to re occur.
For your information, the TV channels are free to watch, only the movies and internet are chargeable.

Best regards,

Remi Van Reeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing