We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Ibis Cardiff Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bude, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Rooms were hot and stuffy. Hardly any air circulation.
I can understand that window openings were restricted due to health and safety.
But could've done with air-conditioning or fan.
Would've been nice to have free WiFi if our duration was more than 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandH8384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Ibis hotels offer a consistent economy hotel product. Ibis look to offer good value for money, modern, well-equipped rooms and a satisfying experience. Unfortunetley as a budget hotel we do not currently offer full airconditioning, I am sorry that you found it too hot on this occasion and for future information we do have fans available from reception for your use as well during this extremely hot weather.

Kind Regards
Faris Thowfeek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    242
    134
    25
    33
See reviews for
112
193
59
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at the Ibis Hotel at Cardiff Gate over the weekend.
The staff are very freindly and helpful.
The rooms are spacious and clean, with a nice powerful shower.
And best of all the price was fantastic, and included breakfast.
I will certainly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2015JUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards as we endeavour to meet all of our customers needs.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed at the Ibis Cardiff gate recently and was very disappointed with the standards.
When we got to our room, there was hair all over the top of the bed. My parents bedroom had a noticiable blood stain on the carpet.
We were awoken the next day by some workmen outside our room (who were redecorating the hotel) playing their radio.
At breakfast the next day the hot food was far from hot!
We asked the recptionist to book us a taxi. After 20 mins I asked her about it and she replied "I called but there was no answer!" Not impressed.
All in all very disappointed with the experience and wont be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed on this occassion and feel that standards have dropped. I would personally like to look into this and would appreciate more information so if you’d like to contact me I would appreciate it. Here at Ibis Cardiff gate we do not accept anything but a constant high standard.
Kind regards,
Faris Thowfeek
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This was a great hotel for the money we paid. The breakfast was very good. This hotel is an hour bus ride or 15 minute car trip from the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdc278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,

Faris Thowfeek
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

clean room, comfortable bed, clean towels and shower gel provided, tea, coffee making facilities and plenty of selection on t.v, good for a cheap night in cardiff. Near a toby carvery so ate there so can not comment on food

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisanstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiffgate, Front Office Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Faris Thowfeek
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
1,168 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#56 of 74 in Cardiff
279 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff Gate

Property: Ibis Cardiff Gate
Address: Malthouse Avenue | Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pontprennau, Cardiff CF23 8RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Cardiff Gate is a budget hotel, located just outside Cardiff city centre. Book the hotel for access to the M4 as well as Cardiff Gate Business Park. The 78 modern guest rooms all have Free Wifi throughout and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast or a light meal at Fogg's restaurant or relax with a drink in the friendly bar. There is a meeting room for up to 25 people, and free private outdoor parking available at the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pentwyn and Pontprennau, and is a 15 minute drive from Cardiff city centre. Cardiff international Airport is 21 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Gate Hotel Cardiff
Accor Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing