We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
165
267
146
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
267
146
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoby carverymotorway servicesbusiness parkbudget hotelmotorway service areawh smithtoby innmin drivepark and ridecity centrefree parkingthe ground floorcomfortable bedgood sizegood nights sleepone night staythe hotel is clean
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

stayed on our way to bridgend in cardiff lovely rooms clean comfortable beds could do a bit better with towels in the rooms must say the staff were extremely helpful and friendly breakfast was ok for the price would defnetely use this hotel if i was to go to cardiff again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Traveller Marie1927,
I am glad you had a good stay at the Ibis Cardiff Gate, I will share your comments with my team.
Hope to see you soon again.
Best Wishes
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stopped over for one night recently after a long journey. Warm welcome, good price and a Toby Carvery nearby, just what we needed! Sadly the first room we were in was near the generator. My husband saw reception and we were moved to a quiet double room - despite being told upon check in that only twin rooms were available. This room was much better, quiet and cool. The carpets are a bit worn, and the paintwork needs updating as it is quite badly stained in places. A basic hotel that we would only use as a last resort. Not bad on the whole, and slept well.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you want to sleep well.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank angiehiltonlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Traveller Angiehiltonlewis,
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Good for our dog: we could walk her around the adjoining car parks without being confronted by too much traffic. Good size rooms, and we used Cardiff East P+ride to get to Cardiff. Also convenient for the brilliant must-see National History Museum at St. Fagan's

Room Tip: Staff will put you on ground floor if you have a dog, so if you do not like them, ask for another floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Alan S,
Many Thanks for your kind comments, I am glad you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards
Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night to break up a long journey to west Wales, booked early for a really reasonable rate, so expectations were not too high, especially after some bad experiences with budget chains, but we were really pleasantly surprised. Lovely comfortable room, quiet, well located, staff very friendly and helpful.Child sofa bed already made up for us. Good size clean bathroom, plenty of big towels. Pleasant public areas, with a small bar. Didn't try breakfast, there are several places nearby where you could get a meal or snacks.
Not far from Cardiff park and ride, so could make a good base for seeing a bit of the area, if you didn't mind staying at a motorway service area. We will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallymo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Traveller Sallymo48,
Thanks for your nice review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews