We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taps....”
Review of Ibis Cardiff Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Taps....”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A great little hotel marred by a cold tap that would not turn on - the knob just turned around without gripping the inside bit. Helpful staff offered me a room change and free breakfast, but I had all my kit laid out and it would have taken ages, so I elected to have my kettle filled and a very large jug of cold water!! Changed room the next day when I had all my kit on and had packed all the toiletries etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Mike L,
Thank you for your comments and your feedback. I will pass it onto my maintenance team.
We look forward to welcoming you back and provide you with hassle-free experience.
Best Wishes
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    239
    133
    25
    33
See reviews for
111
191
58
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Supreme comfort at a competitive price. Great to be able to take the dog too. Easy to get to and parking ample. Bit of a drive into Cardiff but worth the trouble! Could use the park and ride if you didn't need to have the dog close by which is excellent value £3 per car. Will be going back if too many others don't catch on. Lovely to have the WC and shower in a room together rather than separate for privacy. Lovely staff and nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Not telling you otherwise won't get it again but the ground floor is an excellent option for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Clare O,
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay at Ibis Cardiff Gate. I am glad you enjoyed it so much.
We look forward to welcoming you and your dog back.
Best Wishes
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Needed a hotel to do family visits in and around Cardiff before Christmas Tried the IBIS this time. Room a little tired but ok Hairdryer did not work but had my own. Breakfast good and room really warm . Staff very helpful. Also being on the services there is a choice of food options including a Waitrose picnic. Will stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Liz M,
I am glad you chose to stay at Ibis Cardiff Gate and that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments about the hairdryer onto my maintenance team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best Wishes
Daniel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

we booked two double rooms ,on enterting the reception we was greeted by a young very friendly man who quickly booked us all in , on entering the room we where greeted with the biggest bed i have seen crisp clean white sheets and a memory foam topper very comfy bed and a very good nights sleep bathrooms are good with large walk in shower large tv with built in facilities to set an alarm call overall a good hotel would definitly go again and very good value 2 rooms for 55 00 fantastic

Room Tip: all rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Gordon C,
Many Thanks for your nice review about your recent stay at Ibis Cardiff Gate hotel. I was very pleased to read that you found my staff friendly and hotel good value for money. I will share your comments with my team and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards.
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

well, i can say the hotel itself was good and breakfast was good. But i can honestly say i will not return as long as KAMILLA is working there, i have never met such a rude, obnoxious person in all my life. Her attitude and tone of voice is disgusting, she should take some lessons off the 2 welsh receptionists

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Derek B, thank you for your time posting a review about your stay at Ibis Cardiff Gate. I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel, but I was really desappointed to read that it was marred by Kamilla's attitude. Could you please contact me directly on daniel.mlcousek@accor.com to discuss it more in detail. Best Wishes. Daniel (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
4.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
1,155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#50 of 73 in Cardiff
273 reviews
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff Gate

Property: Ibis Cardiff Gate
Address: Malthouse Avenue | Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pontprennau, Cardiff CF23 8RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Cardiff Gate is a budget hotel, located just outside Cardiff city centre. Book the hotel for access to the M4 as well as Cardiff gate Business Park. The 78 modern guest rooms all have Free Wifi throughout and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast ora light meal at the Café or relax with a drink in the friendly bar. There is a meeting room for up to 25 people, and free private outdoor parking available at the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pentwyn and Pontprennau, and is a 15 minute drive from Cardiff city centre. Cardiff international Airport is 21 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Gate Hotel Cardiff
Accor Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing