We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect but more coffee please”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plan Cafe

The Plan Cafe
Ranked #217 of 1,215 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of The Independent's top 50 coffee bars in Britain; fantastic fair trade coffee; organic, vegan, veggie, and gluten-free menu items; excellent breakfasts and lunch.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect but more coffee please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Visit regularly.....breakfast and latte
My one observation.....coffee needs to be delivered to table nearer breakfast delivery OR staff need to ask customers if more coffee needed?
Yes i could go to the counter but tweeking customer service can only be good....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisbjowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    97
    36
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Listen up.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I don't know what these negative reviews are based on because I've never had a bad experience here.

I recently took my girlfriend here as part of a treat weekend and we were both served two perfect, yes, PERFECT poached eggs. The toast was good, too, and so was the tea. The service was swift and the prices are high enough to keep the place out of greasy spoon territory.

Thoroughly satisfied.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BattlePants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salalah, Oman
Level Contributor
162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Very disappointing - how can you get a jacket potato wrong?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Visited here for the first time with a friend. We're both vegetarian and like to go to independent cafes and places that have local, seasonal, organic produce - therefore we were attracted to this cafe. Unfortunately we were very disappointed and would never return. We both had jacket potatoes with veggie chilli - very simple dish and shouldn't really be possible to get it wrong - but it was pretty terrible. The skin of the potato was hard and chewy, the chilli was totally bland (no seasoning or spice) and the cheese tasted of nothing. Furthermore, it came with crisps! Huh?! Who ever thought of serving a potato with some fried potato on the side? Very strange. I could easily make a much better potato in the microwave at home so I resent paying £7+ for this bland, mediocre dish. The joy of having jacket potatoes in a cafe is usually that they're done in the oven and have lovely crispy skins and delicious fillings. This failed on all counts.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anokhi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I always pop in for some lunch when in Cardiff. Great Setting and ambiance and the Food is fab. You pay for what you get and you get great food.
As regards wifi, you can log into a neigbouring traders Internet .
Enjoy

Helpful?
Thank Goldylookingclart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We always try and go here for lunch when we visit Cardiff. Love the food, great quality and value. Lovely presentation with salads and lovely dressings when you order a sandwich

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plan Cafe also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to The Plan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing