We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad points but overall ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This was a close call between three stars and four. I went for four due to the friendliness of the staff.
As other reviewers have mentioned, don't be put off by the 70's office block look as you approach. Inside it's 100% standard Premier Inn decor and you'll feel right at home if you've been to one before.
If you're a light sleeper it's best to ask for a room on the car park side, away from the busy A48 road. Which brings me to an important point; the website includes the little icon "AC" for this hotel, which I take as meaning air-conditioned rooms. Well, our room on level 6 was definitely *not* air-conditioned. There was actually a desk fan provided to try to cool the room down in the summer, given that the window only opens about 6 inches or so. Fortunately, our stay coincided with a spell of cool weather so it wasn't too much of an issue, but if like me you hate trying to sleep in a hot stuffy room, bear this in mind.

The restaurant was ok. One meal which my wife sent back because it wasn't very nice was promptly deducted from the bill and the waitress showed a very good attitude throughout. We didn't try the breakfast.

Location-wise, it probably isn't the best but we were touring in the area so we just drove out in the morning and returned in the evening. Plenty of spaces in the eccentrically-shaped car park.

If you need internet access but find the cost of the wi-fi a bit steep, it's worth noting that the 3G coverage here is very good, so you can always use that instead.

Other than the temperature, the room was fine; clean as ever and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit on the small side and the shower a bit weak. Sound-proofing between the rooms was better than average; the thump of doors closing as people left in the morning was not a problem.

All-in-all, a slightly disappointing stay, improved by the excellent staff. I wouldn't rush back here but would do so if necessary.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Occasiona_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed in this Premier Inn when we came to visit Cardiff for the first time. It is a bit out of Cardiff City, but as we had a car, it only took 10 Minutes to get into the City Center and to the Quay.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is very good value for money and was enough to kept us going until Dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RixaMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here while the Take That concert was on. Staff were really helpful and the rooms were very good standard. The hotel staff are well organised and efficient. The hotel is good value in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snow2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Despite our very brief overnight stay, we enjoyed very good level of comfort. Extremely good quality bed. complimentry tea/coffee facility was handy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKDAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed at the Premier Inn in Pentwyn for two nights to visit my family. We had a lovely stay, the staff were friendly and smiling and actually seemed to enjoy working there. The hotel is located on a direct bus route into Cardiff City centre and has a good car park. We ate dinner on the first night and breakfast on the first morning, both of which were excellent and would have happily taken other meals there if we weren't meeting with friends and family. The rooms were comfortable and we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team_W082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Just spent 3 nights here on a mini-break and found the hotel to be an excellent base for exploring exploring Cardiff and the valleys, hill walking and attending the Welsh Open at Celtic Manor. Although looking somewhat drab and austere from outside, this hotel provides good food and accommodation at sensible rates. The staff are helpful and friendly and there is a Waitrose and Asda close by if you need supplies. The only obvious disadvantage is the lack of free wi-fi connection in public areas for laptop users.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

best breakfast ever. famly friendly, staff approachable and smiling. safe environment well done all staff at Cardiff North. room without a48 outside better as too noisy with window open and room can get hot at night. will return and recommend to friends and family

Room Tip: away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
602 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#57 of 74 in Cardiff
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing