We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Short Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We are a family of 3 - 2 adults and one teenager. Stopped here for 3 nights for a short break and also to see a famous rock concert in Cardiff.
The reception is excellent - very friendly and helpful
Breakfast is average - all you can eat buffet for adults and under 16 eat free. - Quality of food acceptable and range good.
We eat in the restaurant one night and again average
Room was looking dated - door to bathroom jammed and cleanliness ok
Location is good - park and ride 5 mins drive away and driving into the city took 20 mins -
Hotel good as a premier inn and would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    341
    132
    44
    23
See reviews for
349
278
41
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights when visiting Cardiff for a rugby international at the Millennium Stadium. Hotel was fine and typical Premier Inn. Restaurant manager was rather rude but the rest of the staff were good. Travel to the city centre is by 58 bus and costs £3 return (all day ticket) and stops outside the castle and stadium. I would stay here again when visiting cardiff. The bus is only 20 mins and it is a lot cheaper than a hotel in the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnaxMuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Our room was at rear of hotel which was as well because of the noise from the nearby A48. Rooms seem to be smaller than the usual PI rooms, probably because of the fact that itw as an acquisition. Car park was very full on arrival due to two conferences. The restaurant did not open until 6.00 pm, which was a bit inconvenient, and was quite empty when it did. This was booked on a £29 deal, which was good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on business puposes on approx 7 occasions so far and this is the first time I have actually written a review on it. The hotel is not much to look at as it is just one hugh square block. The rooms are all very clean and spacious. I have never had a bad visit yet and have always had a great full English breakfast everyday. The food in the hotel in the evening is very good and you will always find something on the menu that takes your fancy. The staff are very good and are always friendly and helpful. Cardiff is very close and there are many places to eat in the evening if the hotel food becomes a little bit repetitive for you. I have always had a great nights sleep here and will continue to use it as a base when I attend courses and exams in Cardiff. The hotel rates per night are always around £56 - £65 per night which is a little confusing as they have a very big sign up saying rooms from £29 per night. I have never found one of those rooms yet but as my company are paying for it, I am not that worried. I would highly recommend this place. You will not go wrong with a visit here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

From arrival to leaving the staff where friendly and gave a. Impression they cared, when our daughter got upset after loving herself in the toilet the staff went out of their way to check everything was alright and then help comfort her.

I could recorded this hotel higher, my wife stayed at a travel lodge the night before and it was chalk and cheese the difference.

If you are thinking of staying here the park and ride is close so meant we could drive to the end of the road jump on a bus which carried on every 15 minutes till 20:30 which as we have young children was perfect for us and only cost £3 per car.

One of the best hotels I have every stayed in for service. Higly recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

3rd August. Stayed here for 3 nights on a golfing break. Staff are very friendly and the hotel was good value at £29 per night. Room was a bit warm, but a fan had been provided. Had dinner in the restaurant on our last night and the deals are excellent value. Coffee and cake available in the afternoon at £3.50 - a nice treat. This hotel seems very busy which is a good sign and the location is ideal for touring the area, as near to the M4 & A48(M). Agree with another reviewer that it may be best to get a room on the car park side as A48 is directly in front of the hotel. Worth the drive into Cardiff Bay for a walk out to the Barrage - Havannah St car park (near St Davids Hotel) is good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the car park side of the hotel - it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed at the PI Cardiff North for one night on the 23rd of July and I have to say it was just as I expected.

I had only paid £29 for the night using their website which was a great price.

The room had everything I needed, could have been there a week and still been comfortable.

* Nice double bed with very comfortable pillows and mattress
* Flat screen T.V with Freeview
* Bath and Shower Combo
* Desk
* Good storage space
* Good size room

At checking in I had a very friendly welcome from a lady called Gosia who told me everything I needed to know.

Hotel had ample free parking and for those that need a petrol station..... only 500 meters away on the same road.

There was a little noise in the bar area until late with a wedding party going on. Not too sure the staff were in complete control of this situation.

I would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinBrownuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing