We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge a book by its cover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with the family exploring the the sights of Cardiff. The hotel from the outside looks a little shabby but don't be fooled, the interior is clean and modern. The rooms are clean and in good order and very quiet considering there is a busy road outside. Easy access to bus service in to Cardiff city centre and the park and ride is half a mile away. By far the best aspect of this hotel is the friendliness of the staff. I have had poorer service from 4* hotels. Nothing was too much trouble. We had breakfast and dinner there, both of which were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    349
    134
    47
    25
See reviews for
353
280
43
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

I spent two nights here and although the hotel is tired needing a lick of paint and some new bathroom fittings, all in all it represents great value and it has to be said that the location is perfect for salesman like me to commute for a couple of days in Wales, right by junction 30 of the M4. The breakfast was great and the staff were very friendly, I look forward to returning here next month.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TopLoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hotel is a very friendly hotel and clean staff very helpful food good and there is a bus stop out side the gate and every 15 min only £3 .40 all day .so no battling with traffic . And the speedway was great as usual Cardiff do it so well .well done again to speedway organisers 10/10 .thankkyou .the only complaint no biscuits not enough tea bags needs 4 bags left each time and sugar.

Room Tip: Make sure you have pound coins for bus easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

stayed here just for one night and was very impressed with my stay. the staff were without exception very friendly and helpful. They could give a few pointers to a few 5 star hotels that I have stayed in.
The hotel and rooms were very clean and everything was in good order.
I had dinner in the hotel and this came as a package 3 courses a drink and cooked breakfast for 22 pounds. Very good value and good food.
there is a park and ride into Cardiff nearby and it costs £3.00. I believe the day ticket that will take you around further is £3.60 on the ordinary bus.
there is a waiterose nearby handy for a bottle or snacks.
I enjoyed my stay I was on my own but the staff made me feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Booked in with several others for a family celebration, Premier Inns are simply good value hotels with large rooms and comfortable beds at very reasonable rates. What made the difference that prompted this review was that the staff though were exceptionally nice (and they're normally very good at every Premier Inn I've stayed).

The breakfast, at £8.95, was really good value for money, especially if you have a good morning appetite, with the hot food freshly produced, the croissants warm, and the eat-as-much-as-you-like buffet very welcome.

Only downside was the cost of taxis to and from Cardiff City Centre at around £16.00 each way, making it an expensive night out.

Room Tip: My room at the front suffered fron a little traffic noise so if it's hot and you might want the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northender1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Could not fault our recent stay with my wife and 2 children (8 and 6). Will definitely stay again.
Room was clean, breakfast, restaurant was clean and spacious was fresh beds were comfy and all staff were spot on.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just returned from a weekend break. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. We had brought a bottle of bubbly with us to toast our anniversary and when I asked if I could have some ice to chill it down we were provided not only with ice but ice bucket and Champagne flutes as well. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The service was excellent and staff attentive. All in all we had a wonderful time and recommend this Premier Inn.

Room Tip: On sunny days, close the curtains to keep the room cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing