We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 19 November 2012

As I was working in Cardiff the next day, I wanted a hotel that was quiet and comfortable and the Premier Inn was both. The food was good and the breakfast excellent. To get to the hotel is a £14 taxi journey from Cardiff Central train station or there's a bus (number 58). Taxi may be cheaper depending on what time you arrive, I got there at rush hour and traffic is heavy plus a lot of traffic lights. Staff are friendly and helpful. Definately would go back again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

We booked to stay at this hotel in order to be close to the Heath hospital to visit a relative. Unfortunately our experiences on arrival tinted our stay. The car park was over full due to a conference being held at the hotel and so parking was practically impossible. I am 7 months pregnant and on crutches due to my pelvis being misaligned. Although I was with relatives, they had their own luggage to carry and so I asked the receptionist if there was any possibility of help taking my luggage to my room. I was told the hotel did not operate this service but I was welcome to take a trolley to push my luggage, I'm still not sure how the receptionist thought I would be able to manage this!! I had just paid £396 for 2 rooms over 3 nights when I was told this, I've received better service at Mcdonald's where I spent less than £10 and the person serving carried my tray without me having to ask. The staff were quite cold and unwelcoming on first contact but warmed up when they realised we were staying longer than one night. Also one of the rooms booked was not made up as a double and the bathroom had an unpleasant odour. Luckily our relative recovered quicker than expected and we were able to check out a day early getting a refund on our last night. If you pay the £29 per room as advertised I can see that you get what you pay for but when you get caught up in a rugby match or a busy weekend at inevitably short notice resulting in paying over the odds for a budget hotel room the service definitely falls short of impressive.

Room Tip: If your looking for somewhere to stay at short notice don't choose a premier inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EE_RyanPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on a visit to Wales. Our room on6th floor had been newly carpeted and the receptionist told us that the beds had been replaced the week before. That's the thing about Premier Inn, you can always expect clean, comfortable, modern accommodation at a reasonable price.
The restaurant was a little chaotic and the food wasn't up to scratch, so we ate out. No problem. Breakfast was ok with the usual.

Room Tip: We had a high floor, which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We booked two rooms for one night as a family going to an anniversary in Cardiff. At £29per room it was outstanding value. The rooms were as expected with the usual comfortable bed. Although we were dismayed that the rooms ended up on different floors this was quickly rectified by a very helpful and cheerful receptionist. There was little to no noise during the night and we slept with the window slightly ajar. The room overlooked the car park rather than the dual carriageway. A little surprised that there was only one bath towel in each of the rooms.
A good option and one we would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room overlooking the car park, well it worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simoncoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

From the outside the Premier Inn looks a bit like a car park... but don't be put off, inside has obviously been refurbished recently and is bright, clean and modern. Restaurant is standard Premier Inn fare but reasonably priced and the service was very friendly. Goff location for exploring Cardiff, obviously not as convenient as a city centre hotel but we at £29 per night these are not city centre prices! There is a Park and Ride just across the road for £3, would advise this to avoid city centre traffic, if you get off at the first stop (Dumfries Place) you are well located for the main shopping district, and the castle and bus tour etc. A taxi into the city was only about £10 before midnight, it was £14 for a metered taxi at 3am.

The ladies on reception couldn't be more helpful, asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: Even the ones that are on the motorway side of the hotel are well insulated and very quiet, didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyH1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We recently stayed at this Premier Inn for three nights and we had a truly lovely stay. It's located a fair was outside Cardiff, so you will need transport if you are intending going into the city. Our room was located facing the car park and was quiet, whereas the rooms facing the busy main road on the other side of the building might have been a bit noisy. The accommodation was clean and in a good state of repair for its age, the food was very good and the drinks prices at the bar are very competitive for a hotel. But the best part of all was the staff, as every single member we encountered during our stay were courteous, polite and very friendly, especially towards the children. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, and we are looking forward to our next trip to this part of Wales so that we can stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the car park side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alwaysonholiday53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I often comment on trip advisor about places I stay and eat at and it suddenly struck me that I stay at the Premier inn Cardiff North at least 3 times a month and I have never commented on it, so here it goes. whilst I do stay here for work purposes and it's a bit like home from home I have observed the wonderful hospitality and friendliness of the staff with all customers, they are always ready with a smile and no problem is to big or to small. The staff are brilliant with children and during my last stay half term week the staff had decorated the hotel with Halloween bunting etc and the children loved it. The rooms are immaculate as is the communal areas and whilst the menu does get a bit repetitive for me as I am there so often I cannot complain about the food or the customer service in the restaurant . It's a great work base but it is also only 10 mins away from the city centre so an ideal base for shopping or exploring Cardiff which is an amazing city. Don't bother with the city centre hotels as often parking is limited, good parking here and about £7 in a taxi to the centre but a bus stop is also outside the hotel to the left to get you into the city centre as well as the park and ride about 2mins away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the A28 can be a little noisy if you need the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlindajen2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 74 in Cardiff
600 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#57 of 74 in Cardiff
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing