We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel not too far from the City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel not too far from the City Centre”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Great hotel, it is about 20 mins bus ride away. We got a day pass which is £3.40 for the day per person and lasts all day and night right up until the last bus (23:25 so not late if you wanted to stay out!!) We got a taxi back about midnight and it only cost £10...get the hotel to give you a business card of a taxi firm though as there are a few 'dodgy cabs' around! :) Food was lovely. We had the meal deal and dinner was cooked to perfection - breakfast was nice too but was more rushed than dinner....the hotel has a traffic light system for breakfast which shows you when to go if you don't want it to be busy! Staff were very friendly and really helpful - get them to gie you a map of the city centre as it is really detailed and was our bible for the weekend!! We would definately stay here again....ok it is not right in the centre like the other one but it is definately value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    353
    137
    48
    30
See reviews for
358
283
47
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

As I was working in Cardiff the next day, I wanted a hotel that was quiet and comfortable and the Premier Inn was both. The food was good and the breakfast excellent. To get to the hotel is a £14 taxi journey from Cardiff Central train station or there's a bus (number 58). Taxi may be cheaper depending on what time you arrive, I got there at rush hour and traffic is heavy plus a lot of traffic lights. Staff are friendly and helpful. Definately would go back again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We booked to stay at this hotel in order to be close to the Heath hospital to visit a relative. Unfortunately our experiences on arrival tinted our stay. The car park was over full due to a conference being held at the hotel and so parking was practically impossible. I am 7 months pregnant and on crutches due to my pelvis being misaligned. Although I was with relatives, they had their own luggage to carry and so I asked the receptionist if there was any possibility of help taking my luggage to my room. I was told the hotel did not operate this service but I was welcome to take a trolley to push my luggage, I'm still not sure how the receptionist thought I would be able to manage this!! I had just paid £396 for 2 rooms over 3 nights when I was told this, I've received better service at Mcdonald's where I spent less than £10 and the person serving carried my tray without me having to ask. The staff were quite cold and unwelcoming on first contact but warmed up when they realised we were staying longer than one night. Also one of the rooms booked was not made up as a double and the bathroom had an unpleasant odour. Luckily our relative recovered quicker than expected and we were able to check out a day early getting a refund on our last night. If you pay the £29 per room as advertised I can see that you get what you pay for but when you get caught up in a rugby match or a busy weekend at inevitably short notice resulting in paying over the odds for a budget hotel room the service definitely falls short of impressive.

Room Tip: If your looking for somewhere to stay at short notice don't choose a premier inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EE_RyanPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on a visit to Wales. Our room on6th floor had been newly carpeted and the receptionist told us that the beds had been replaced the week before. That's the thing about Premier Inn, you can always expect clean, comfortable, modern accommodation at a reasonable price.
The restaurant was a little chaotic and the food wasn't up to scratch, so we ate out. No problem. Breakfast was ok with the usual.

Room Tip: We had a high floor, which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silky30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We booked two rooms for one night as a family going to an anniversary in Cardiff. At £29per room it was outstanding value. The rooms were as expected with the usual comfortable bed. Although we were dismayed that the rooms ended up on different floors this was quickly rectified by a very helpful and cheerful receptionist. There was little to no noise during the night and we slept with the window slightly ajar. The room overlooked the car park rather than the dual carriageway. A little surprised that there was only one bath towel in each of the rooms.
A good option and one we would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room overlooking the car park, well it worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simoncoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

From the outside the Premier Inn looks a bit like a car park... but don't be put off, inside has obviously been refurbished recently and is bright, clean and modern. Restaurant is standard Premier Inn fare but reasonably priced and the service was very friendly. Goff location for exploring Cardiff, obviously not as convenient as a city centre hotel but we at £29 per night these are not city centre prices! There is a Park and Ride just across the road for £3, would advise this to avoid city centre traffic, if you get off at the first stop (Dumfries Place) you are well located for the main shopping district, and the castle and bus tour etc. A taxi into the city was only about £10 before midnight, it was £14 for a metered taxi at 3am.

The ladies on reception couldn't be more helpful, asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: Even the ones that are on the motorway side of the hotel are well insulated and very quiet, didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyH1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
363 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We recently stayed at this Premier Inn for three nights and we had a truly lovely stay. It's located a fair was outside Cardiff, so you will need transport if you are intending going into the city. Our room was located facing the car park and was quiet, whereas the rooms facing the busy main road on the other side of the building might have been a bit noisy. The accommodation was clean and in a good state of repair for its age, the food was very good and the drinks prices at the bar are very competitive for a hotel. But the best part of all was the staff, as every single member we encountered during our stay were courteous, polite and very friendly, especially towards the children. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, and we are looking forward to our next trip to this part of Wales so that we can stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the car park side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaysonholiday53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing