We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall good place to stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

stayed here for two nights, was slightly further from cardiff town centre than thought by reading online description so beware! Taxi did only cost £10 into the centre though , lovely taxi firm the hotel recommends driver took us as close to venue as possible and told us where to walk - also warned us about the best place to get a taxi back. hotel very clean and presentable, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast can get busy - one morning two young workers were rushed off their feet but were excellent at keeping things running smoothly. Excellent restaurant, menu surprised me at dinner time. Good choice of food and great quality really enjoyed however no information was given when booking breakfast reservations online that they do a meal deal for breakfast and dinner rolled into one which works out cheaper, we were however able to change this at reception so that was good. bar area has a pool table and one tv which shows the news channel this got pretty boring so be prepared if you will be staying in the hotel for more than a few hours! no iron in the hotel room! which was a disappointment. Overall it was a good stay perhaps a little over priced at times but would stay again :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    340
    132
    44
    23
See reviews for
348
278
41
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for one night on 5 November 2013 in order to attend my Aunt's funeral the following day. Room cosy, bed comfortable, very quiet at night, but our room was at the back of the hotel. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Waitress gave us a window table in the restaurant, so that we could enjoy the local fireworks. Food good, with decent portions, couldn't manage dessert. Breakfast plentiful, with hot buffet hot and continually replenished. Thanks to Kelly in the restaurant and Stacey on reception for supplying printed directions to the crematorium. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: To avoid road noise request a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockhartjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel room was clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only drawback was that our room faced front onto the main road which was noisy but did quieten down later in the evening. The staff advised us that if we stayed again to phone and book a room at the back of the hotel. There is a Beefeater pub adjoining the hotel where we ate the first night which was adequate but we ate at the Wenvoe Arms(could be Inn) which is a short walk from the hotel and the food was good.

Room Tip: Phone and book a room at the bck of the hotel away from the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Spent a wonderful weekend here with my children and friends. Nothing But full praise for the staff, helpful, happy, polite and professional, especially waiting staff in the evening. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable, what more could you want. Such good value for money, booked again for January 2014.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Inside hotel more attractive than outside of building. Disabled accomodation met our needs. Shower/bath arrangement. Lots of grab rails but no bath seat. Room was good size and very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Booked for our next trip down (Christmas visit) on arrival back home. Bit out of city but easy to find from A48, visible from road - a blessing after 5 hour drive! Breakfast really good and hearty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Friendly staff on arrival, but loads of young groups of friends up all night partying, letting off fire extinguishers in corridors. Despite repeated complaints,staff did not remove them even though they said they had issued them a final warning. Close to Cardiff city centre, with good parking. Ideal if you don't like to sleep at night!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophtheloaf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We've traveled quite a lot over the years and have always liked Premier Inns, but this one didn't quite hit it off with us.
First we stayed there for 4 nights and we're sure the bed linen wasn't changed in that time. Having said that, the beds were comfortable and warm enough.

Despite running out of toiler paper we had to ask for a replacement roll from reception as the room service didn't spot the empty one.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant each night and took a glass of alcohol back to the room each night and after being concerned about returning the empties we were told "Don't worry about that, room service will take them" but they didn't and after 3 nights we had quite a collection.

Previous reviewers have mentioned the haphazard service in the restaurant, and we experienced the same thing, and you'd sit on an empty glass for ages and in the end have to ask for a refill. Yes all the staff are friendly, obliging, polite etc etc, but if you're going to be blind to an empty glass, then why are you serving.

It seems that service delivery is a problem here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassieNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
552 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing