We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our home from home”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Have stayed at the Premier Inn Cardiff North for years on business. However having left that company in April some old friends decided to get together for a nostalgia get together. Happy to report that as ever it was great. All the usual Premier Inn things - clean room and bathroom, nice food etc. But as ever the staff were amazing and remembered us. We were made to feel like family and the staff helped us to have a brilliant weekend. Thank you so much to all of our old friends at Premier Inn Cardiff North. Chris Dobson xxx

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    354
    137
    48
    30
See reviews for
360
283
47
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stay at premier inns when ever I can. Mainly because they are always great quality and because they offer great value. However my view on premier inns have changed considerably since staying at this place.

Firstly lets look at the good points.

Staff are great, the restaurant was really good with great friendly staff and very nice food. The rooms are your typical high standard for premier inns. Everything was spotless and the bed nice and comfy. Secondary glass on the windows ensured that you could totally block out the road noise from the motorway. The heating in the room was perfect and I couldn't have been happier with it.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel on the main road where you can buy an all day ticket for £3.50. This place couldn't be better more better placed.

Now the bad point.

I usually pay around £60 for a room and today I was charged £135.... yes...you read that right... £135 for a premier Inn room. Did this include breakfast.....no it didn't. I spend a lot of money with Whitbread and this included the huge number of trips to Costa and usually I walk away thinking "Wow what a great company and great services". But after this, my god what a rip off.

I've stayed in better hotels in London that included breakfast for this price. Oh dear oh dear oh dear Premier Inn...what are you playing at.

I can only think that the reason this was so expensive was because they were cashing in on the Rugby match at the Millennium stadium.

Anyway, to be fair there is nothing wrong with this hotel, its perfect, its in a great location for Cardiff and I would recommend you stay here...BUT don't expect anything cheap during any sort of event.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinndexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Why would you write a review about a Premier Inn? They are all the same, you know what you are going to get - a value for money stay in a clean functional room.
But this trip had something extra - the staff. At the reception and in the restaurant, ALL the staff without exception were natural, friendly and helpful, always taking the time to explain the menu options to families and generally making everyone feel welcome. A good dinner and excellent breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefSJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Spacious, plenty parking, good rooms and good food in hotel. Ideally located for the hospital and university. Have stayed here a few times. Always good. Would recommend for business or pleasure.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gorpo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

stayed here for two nights, was slightly further from cardiff town centre than thought by reading online description so beware! Taxi did only cost £10 into the centre though , lovely taxi firm the hotel recommends driver took us as close to venue as possible and told us where to walk - also warned us about the best place to get a taxi back. hotel very clean and presentable, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast can get busy - one morning two young workers were rushed off their feet but were excellent at keeping things running smoothly. Excellent restaurant, menu surprised me at dinner time. Good choice of food and great quality really enjoyed however no information was given when booking breakfast reservations online that they do a meal deal for breakfast and dinner rolled into one which works out cheaper, we were however able to change this at reception so that was good. bar area has a pool table and one tv which shows the news channel this got pretty boring so be prepared if you will be staying in the hotel for more than a few hours! no iron in the hotel room! which was a disappointment. Overall it was a good stay perhaps a little over priced at times but would stay again :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for one night on 5 November 2013 in order to attend my Aunt's funeral the following day. Room cosy, bed comfortable, very quiet at night, but our room was at the back of the hotel. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Waitress gave us a window table in the restaurant, so that we could enjoy the local fireworks. Food good, with decent portions, couldn't manage dessert. Breakfast plentiful, with hot buffet hot and continually replenished. Thanks to Kelly in the restaurant and Stacey on reception for supplying printed directions to the crematorium. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: To avoid road noise request a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockhartjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel room was clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only drawback was that our room faced front onto the main road which was noisy but did quieten down later in the evening. The staff advised us that if we stayed again to phone and book a room at the back of the hotel. There is a Beefeater pub adjoining the hotel where we ate the first night which was adequate but we ate at the Wenvoe Arms(could be Inn) which is a short walk from the hotel and the food was good.

Room Tip: Phone and book a room at the bck of the hotel away from the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing