We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it looks!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than it looks!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

When i searched for a premier inn in Cardiff i kept trying to avoid staying here as the outside doesn't look like somewhere i would stay, but we needed somewhere close to where we were going. I went ahead and booked it anyway as i seen good reviews and it was the cheapest one we could find within a few miles to where we needed.
Inside was lovely the staff are all great, and the the room was to our expectation.
The only downfall was the receptionist told us we would have to get a taxi to somewhere to eat as it was on a dual carriageway but we realised there was a sizzler pub literally 5 minute walk from the hotel if u were going out of the hotel and turning right, so we could of saved £20 petrol.
Me and my partner ended up coming down with the sickness bug so missed out on the breakfast (they refunded us the money too as we payed in advance) but from what i saw they had a good selection of food and my parents had the breakfast and said it was so much better compared to the last premier inn we stayed in.
I would definitely stay here again and hopefully will get a taste of the breakfast next time :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank launa0931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    367
    152
    54
    36
See reviews for
384
296
49
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A satisfactory stay after a long late journey - got a car parking space when we arrived at 22:00 hours and found our room easily.

Breakfast the next morning was absolutely wonderful - lots to choose from and the staff where really friendly with our children. Fruit, cereal, toppings for cereal, toast, full English breakfast, tea, coffee, chocolate, latte, croissants, etc etc I could go on!!!!

The only reason for the 3 star rating was that our room smelt musty and was off putting. I reported this to reception the next day so hopefully has been sorted for anybody else staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentine37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the outside the hotel looked tired and it was with some trepidation that we booked in. Our concerns deepened when we walked down the corridor to our room.
However once we entered our room all concerns disappeared in a flash. The room was clean and very tidy, all the usual things were there but the extra was that the large fan was already on and the room felt cool .

The staff were friendly helpful and professional at all times and greeted everyone with a smile and personal comment. and IMMEDIATELY gave me an extra towel (from under the counter!!) when I requested it

We did not have air conditioning even though we were in a large family room but we did have a fan which kept us cool.

We will certainly be returning in the future and will use this a half way stop when taking our son back to university.
The only negative comment I can make is the small bathroom, it is just as well we didn't take the cat - he'd have a major headache!!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the car park and it was really quiet even though the car park was full. T
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We found Cardiff North Premier Inn exceeded all our expectations. We just really wanted to break our trip to Ireland up, by stopping here for a couple of days. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, offering advice about the surrounding area, and the hotel itself. The room wasn't huge for 4 of us, but perfectly adequate for a couple of nights. Any longer, I'd probably get a couple of adjoining rooms. Facilities great, food excellent and good value. All-in-all, recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is the second time my family and I have stayed at Cardiff North Premier Inn. On both occasions we've stayed to visit The Big Cheese Festival and we're so glad we did! The staff are all so friendly, welcoming and chatty and it was great that Kelly in the restaurant recognised us from last year, she's a real star and provided service with a smile to us on both nights. We opted for the meal deals which was fantastic value, with the option to upgrade to 3 courses for just £2 extra. The breakfast as ever was hot, fresh, plentiful and constantly replenished. The food on the menu is pretty much what you'd expect to see in a pub but was cooked to a very good standard, no complaints there! Despite it's location, no road noise could be heard unless you had the window open.
A great base for visiting the local area(s). An older style Premier Inn but still one of our favourites!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We are happy with our stay at premier inn cardiff north. Pleasant staff, clean fresh room, lovely breakfast, great distance to go cardiff city centre, family friendly. Children enjoyed themselves and could watch 'cbeebies' on the telly! Bathroom was a little small and the door would swing open if not slammed shut! But that's just me being fussy! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteCoombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The exterior looks drab but inside the rooms are the standard Premier Inn offering. Unfortunately not all them have air conditioning and we stayed during a heat wave - we had air conditioning but my mother's room didn't, she just had a noisy fan.

We had a warm and friendly welcome at reception every time we went there. The one small problem was that no one told us about the exit code to get out of the car park, luckily someone pulled up behind us and told us what it was the first time we tried to go out as the call reception button wasn't working.

The self-service breakfast was fine but the service for our evening meal was incredibly slow. My sons were having the 3 course children's menu. It took over half an hour for their not very impressive starters to arrive, then another 3/4 hour for the main courses. It was all standard chain restaurant food so there was no reason for us to have to wait so long. I was having the £22.99 meal deal with included breakfast and we were told it would be on the list for the breakfast staff, there was nothing we had to do. The next morning the breakfast staff demanded a receipt from the night before, which luckily we had with us, but we'd clearly been given duff information the night before.

The hotel is handily located for the motorway and we found plenty to do in the area. It isn't the sort of place you'd head out for an evening stroll but as a base it's great. I would use it again, but would avoid staying there at the height of summer and would plan to eat out somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
580 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
3.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing