We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 8 September 2009

This was our first stay at a Premier Inn & having paid their special rate of £29/night, we weren't expecting too much. However, everything exceeded our expectations. The room was very spacious, especially when compared to most budget hotels, & spotlessly clean. Bed was extremely confortable & the soundproofing very effective.
The hotel is pretty close to the M4 & is about 4 miles from Carfiff city centre. There's a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes about 30 minutes & costs £3 per day - found this much easier than driving into the city.
Will definitely be staying at Premier Inns in future if they're all as good as this.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lettyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2009

Hotel was very clean, after reading the reviews I did spend some wasted time looking for bad things but managed to come up with nothing (thankfully). Excellent value for money as was the breakfast (eat all you can for £7.95 with children under 15 eat free) which was delicious every morning. Waiting and bar staff were brilliant as were the reception staff, one of which phoned her father to find out the number bus we needed as he was a bus driver!! Best member of staff award has to go to Clare who my 7 year old son fell in love with after he complained that I hadnt packed his hair gel and she produced her own for him, She checked on us every day to make sure we were ok and enjoying ourselves. On the last morning she asked my boys if they had had a lovely holiday both answered yes, then she asked if they mum and dad has spoilt them, to which they answered yes, and then asked if they would like hot chocolate for breakfast and sped of to make this for them, nothing was too much trouble for her or any other member of the friendly staff at this hotel and cannot wait to go back to see them, and stay in this wonderful hotel. We did go to the harvester for a meal on the first night and after sending my second meal back we did not go again so I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistressofmayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The staff gave an excellant service especially Amy on reception, the room was very clean breakfast excellant, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebeard9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who seemed genuinely interested in our journey. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next day was excellent, ranging from full English to Continental. You could eat as much as you liked! The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and happy. We took a bus from the hotel to Cardiff central, it did take about 30 minutes but the bus fare was only £3.00 return each! Very conveniently situated to take in the sights of Cardiff

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank In-need-of-a-rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

The hotel itself was lovely and the staff very nice. however our room had not been cleaned thoroughly enough. when i went to have a shower i noticed the shower mat was very dirty. one of the walls also had stickers on it?!!?? very odd......however when i went to complain, the receptionist was very nice and offered our money back straight away due to their 'quality night stay' guarantee. so overall i cant complain at that really. breakfast was a little steep at £8.00, but was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBC567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stayed here for one night with my elderley Mother-in-Law. It worked out really well and she said she had her best night's sleep for ages. Rooms were quiet, comfortable and clean (though the first room we were allocated had not been serviced, so we had to move to another one). Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good quality.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ComesDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJBulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
585 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#56 of 74 in Cardiff
283 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing