We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I stayed for three nights at the beginning of September. Very impressed, and it was excellent value (£29/night). I would've been happy had I paid more. The room was of a good size, with a double window (due to it's close proximity to the A48) which reduces the noise dramatically. Air conditioning was available. Bed was comfortable, bed linen clean, and of good quality. Bathroom - spotless! (A must) There was a good size desk, and a good size TV (approx. 20inch).
I assume that the room may have had a recent refurb. as its fittings looked new, and unworn. Reception staff were helpful, with a smile on arrival. I did not use the on-site restaurant.
Good size, secure (barrier) car park.

This was my first experience with Premier Inn, and I would return again.
My ONLY (small) negative comment would be due to the family which stayed in two nearby rooms one night - they were noisy and it would have been nicer had they been allocated to a different floor.

Local amenities include - Waitrose Supermarket with Cafe (literally, around the corner), McDonalds at a nearby retail park, and Burger King/Starbucks at Cardiff Gate Services (both less than 5 mins. by car).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TenbyPuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    340
    132
    44
    23
See reviews for
348
278
41
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
247 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Stayed there several times on business trips (they know my face now!)

First time, the room booking service was smooth, as was the restaurant on the sunday night. The following successive nights different staff waited on in the restaurant who seemed less attentive than the weekend staff. Although it was busier, but that's no excuse.

Later visits went pretty well - meals fine (female staff are certainly friendly and welcoming - definitely made me feel like a valued customer), room okay - warm, clean, quiet and does the job. It's not palatial nor a bridal suite, but served exactly the purpose I wanted it for.

Car Park spacious and reasonably secure due to its location. Only negative is lack of free wireless - the costs didn't represent a justifiable expense for me.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PreacherKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

As a regular PI user, I was a little apprehensive when reading the mixed reviews of the Cardiff North hotel as I have rarely encountered a problem. Picked this one above the others due to the proximity to the main road network as I would be travelling around the area for the two days I was in Carfiff.

Unlike the previous reviewer I found no fault with the Receptionist - extremely friendly, polite and helpful and just what one wants at the end of a long journey. True, the hotel is not the newest in the chain, but as a base from which to travel it was more than adequate. Comfortable bed, spotlessly clean and although overlooking the road, very little noise.

Could not praise the girls in the restaurant highly enough. I was probably the last guest to arrive for dinner, but was treated courteously and well attended to throughout on both nights. The only minor gripe was that the Meal Deal version of the menu is perhaps a little restricted, but the food itself was served promptly, well cooked and adequate. The breakfasts were faultless. Everything one could possibly want, and again with impeccable service from the staff.

I would have no problem with staying there again as a traveller, but for those who want a more central base whilst visiting the city itself, there are hotels closer to the centre. For those who criticise the building itself - the reviews and photographs are out there for research if you choose to look!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil-Clements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This was the last of our Premier Inns on our round-UK trip and by far the worst. The building is large and unattractive (it looks and feels like a 1970's office block), the room was tired and not particularly well cleaned, the receptionist was rude and unhelpful. This was the only one of the Premier Inns where not only were we asked for my daughter's age but practically cross-examined about it (for the inclusive breakfast deal)! Breakfast in the morning was OK but not as good as the ones in Cumbria and Scotland and checkout was as unfriendly as check-in. The provision of the "code" for the car park exit barrier was not offered automatically which meant we had to return to get out. But for the convenient location - close to the University's health sciences campus we would not have stayed there and to cap it all - it was the most expensive of the three Premier Inns we stayed in. We certainly wont be going back until they improve their grumpy "customer care".

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2010
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our Cardiff North hotel. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to delivery a high level of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Guest Relations Team and the Management team at our Cardiff North hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton england
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

another stay at a premier inn this time for paul mcartney show at stadium,why stay any where else when you know the room will be clean the bed will be big and comfy the shower will be hot the staff will be pleasent and the breakfast will be perfect ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin.eastam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2010
We delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to delivery the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I stayed here with my Mum in March, she is originally from Wales and wanted to take me back to show me where she grew up etc. Very handy location, although it is situated next to a busy motorway, it cannot be heard from the room (and ours over looked it).

We did had a slight problem on one of the days, our room hadn't been cleaned, so we had no fresh towels etc, not a major problem, but we contacted reception who dealt with it very proficiently, we were most impressed. We received a free bottle of wine with dinner, and although the manager said she would go up immediately to clean the room; of which we said it was absolutely no problem if it was done the next day - we came back from dinner and it had been cleaned. Excellent service.

Park and Ride is literally about a 1 minute drive, so extremely useful for wanting to get into the City Centre, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxBlondexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel and our great team here exceeded your expectations. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This was a stopover on a road trip. The hotel is right by the A48 going in to Cardiff and, in turn, not far from the M4. It is a large establishment (by Premier Inn standards).

Our room was rather tired and in need of refurbishment. Our son's room was of more recent vintage and much nicer. Curiously, the room given to the two of us had but one set of towels whereas my son's had two sets.

The hotel was very busy in the middle of the week. The restaurant struggled to cope with the numbers in the evening; the menu was uninspiring and the service slow. The self-service breakfast managed to operate efficiently.

A reasonable place to stop off. It would not take long to get to the centre of Cardiff - the park & ride is located not far away. However, there is little or nothing nearby except for a bland housing estate.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlainSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2010
Thanks for your review. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. Thank you for your feedback your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by our Cardiff North hotel. Your feedback is so important in our endeavours to provide our guest with the best level of service. Once again thank you for your review we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
552 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing