We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, would definitely stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, would definitely stay again.”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My friend and I only stayed one night, but we found the Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre to be absolutely fantastic. Our twin room was at the front of the hotel (overlooking the castle's park - amazing view), but it was so quiet; could not hear the traffic at all. Marina at reception was so friendly and helpful, even though we only checked in at 11pm! She gave us so many tips on how to get around Cardiff, things to do, etc., etc. We were really impressed. Added to that the stunning room (following the recent refurb, apparently); very comfortable and clean; the bathroom was great too. The buffet breakfast the next morning was great as well. Basically we loved every minute of our stay, and we actually wished we'd be there longer. I'll definitely 100% stay at this hotel again. A+

Room Tip: We booked early, got a massive discount price. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your comments in regard to your recent visit.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments onto Marina, who I know will be greatly motivated by them.

We look forward to welcome you back to Cardiff and the Holiday Inn

Kind Regards

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    476
    275
    70
    34
See reviews for
171
369
63
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel recently as part of an organised coach trip and i really enjoyed my stay.
The double bed was very comfortable and the chice of firm or soft pillows added to the comfort.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful especialy Matt the barman at Callagans the sports bar attached to the hotel. He went out of his way to make my husband and I feel welcome.
The breakfast was vast with lots of choice that set you up for the day.
The only negative points were the tiny bathroom and the ineffective air conditioning in the room ( there was a unseasonable heatwave during our stay).
I would gladly stay in this hotel again.

Stayed March 2011
Helpful?
Thank RossiNWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment in regard to your recent visit.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and have reviewed the temperatures available through our Heating and Ventilation system going forward.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back to Cardiff and the Holiday Inn in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed here for the Wales v Ireland rugby match and it was great experience as was the rugby! . The rooms were large enough for four men and laid out as requested with the twin sofa beds made up. Checkin was a breeze - the pub, Callaghans, was great craic before the match and the hotel lobby bar was even better craic after the match. I paid for breakfast on both mornings , £9.50, even though cheaper options are easily available within 3 mins walk, reason being its a buffet breakfast and was delicious. The guys in our group who went for the breakfast 3 min away regretted it, as they didn't get enough food and wasn't as tasty.

The one down side to this hotel, in retrospect after getting my phone bill is the amount they charge to contact customer service. Having a large group and editing my booking meant i had to contact customer service to make sure things were as planned. Making money off customers who call to confirm booking arrangements is not good customer service. For this it looses a star.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cormacodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your recent visit for the 6 nations clash between Wales and Ireland.

I was delighted to learn that you and your colleagues totally enjoyed the hotel and the atmosphere, though not the result perhaps.

We pride ourselves on being able to deliver a great match day experience and also great breakfasts ( your colleagues should listen to your advice more often!)

In regard to telephone calls, in future please contact the hotel and ask for a direct line telephone number if available, or leave a number for us to call you back.

Once more thank you for taking the time to contact us and I hope we will be able to welcome you back prior to 2nd Feb 2013 when Wales next meet Ireland in Cardiff.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2011

First and foremost - all of the frontline staff were excellent! The bedroom and bathroom were extremely spacious also. Room service was mixed: occasionally they were uncontactable. Quality of food was good. Unfortunately hotel policy was questionable: disabled parking spaces were occupied by fast food vans (this was the weekend that Wales played Ireland in the 6 Nations). In addition my wife's electric wheelchair (Invacare Storm) could not fit into their tiny guest lifts. We've never seen such small elevators, in fact a manual wheelchair was also an extremely snug fit. The room was functionally furnished. I would also accuse the hotel of profiteering (see above) and would describe our stay as poor value for money. In the final analysis, what price convenience?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your comment in regard to your recent visit during the Wales v Ireland weekend.

I was pleased to learn that you felt the attitude of my colleagues was excellent and the accessible rooms were spacious.

I note your comment on the size of the lifts in relation to motorized wheelchairs. As you are aware the needs of those with accessible needs vary depending on individual circumstances, and therefore in most situations are acceptable.

The dynamics of our operation does change as we are the closest hotel to the Stadium, however I do not believe that any blue badge holders were denied parking space during that time.

Thank you once again for bringing the matter to my attention

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2011

While on a week long stay to celebrate my mothers 82nd birthday, mom developed a lower respritory infection. The hotel staff navigated us through the process of getting the necessary medical care, extended members of our party to stay the necessary extra days of her convalesence, helped with travel arraingements, in short acted as if it were their own mother who had fallen ill.
The hotel is ideally located: just in front of the Milineium stadium, two monutes walk from Cardiff castle, four from the center of town, which is a HUGE pedestrian shopping area with many arcades, malls, a fantastic public library and museums.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you taking the time and trouble to post a comment in regard to your recent visit.

First and foremost I trust that your mother is comfortable and on the mend.

All of my colleagues are grateful and motivated by your kind comments.Their actions reflect the concern that it could have just as easily been their mother or relative, and they would like to think others would assist them in that position as a matter of course.

Thank you once again for your comments and do trust that we will be able to welcome you and your families back to the Holiday Inn and Cardiff under less eventful circumstances.

Kind Regards
Dermot Keegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinto, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

My husband and I along w/ 3 other family members booked a stay here recently. There's no question that it was solid value for the money. Indeed there is a charge for breakfast, but it was a top notch meal offering, which easily sustaned members of our party from when we dined in the morning until late afternoon. Thus, no need to stop for lunch. Also, if one decides to forego dining at the hotel, its central location offers easy access to other dining establishments in the vicinty, of which there are quite a few.
All that being said, a huge tip of the hat to the exceptional attention of the hotel staff. Each staff member we encountered during our stay, whether it be front desk staff, housekeeping, maintenance or restaurant/bar employees- all did the utmost to guarantee that a hallmark of our stay would be superior quality and stellar service throughout. Our traveling party experienced a crisis while guests here- a member of our group fell suddenly ill and required quick medical assessment, emergency ambulance service and prompt hospital admission. A hotel staff member, Dan, apparently is a knowledgeable in the medical field (thankfully!), and Dan swiftly and adeptly took the helm to ensure all necessary assessments were made and arranged for immediate emergency medical assistance and hospital transport. The ambulance and paramedic team were summoned straightaway and arrived in no time flat. As of this writing, the ill member of our group is still hospitalized in Cardiff, with one of our group still remaining behind at the hotel. During this difficult and trying scenario, the staff has gone above and beyond in their efforts to accomodate this unfortunate situation and have smoothed the way beyond our wildest dreams. My husband and I have been so impressed with our positive experience with this hotel, that we've decided we'll definitely be vacationing in Cardiff again and staying at the Holiday Inn City Centre. We'd been contemplating a different destination for our next vacation, but we now plan to head back to Cardiff and this wonderful Holiday Inn. Their exemplary customer service certainly warrants a return trip- we are that impressed with our guest experience. BIG thanks and GREAT job, Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre! We'll be back!!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kaddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your recent stay.

I do trust your group member is making a good recovery in hospital.

I was delighted to learn you felt my colleagues offered exemplary service, and I know that Dan in particular will be delighted by the recognition you gave him.

I do trust you will let us know when you are next due in Cardiff so that we can make your stay as memorable as the last for the level of service you received.


Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I have stayed in this hotel several times, mainly due to its location which is ideal for the city centre and the millenium stadium. I have found the staff to be very pleasant and helpfull, the food is generally very good especially the breakfast, lookout for deals on the evening meals.
Now for the bad stuff, the rooms are generally rather old, tired and a bit small for this standard of hotel nowhere near what you would expect form a Holiday Inn express let alone a premium hotel. I booked a standard double room and was given room 308, I generally stay in Hotels for about 6 months a year and can honestly say this is the smallest double I have ever been given. The bed was practically against the window wall and I had to list my suitcase to get it into the room and then could only open it with the lid against the single wardrobe. I asked to be moved but the only available room was a twin which was a little bigger but not much. The toilet did not flush correctly in either room.
Due to the problems with the rooms I do not feel that I can recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandrewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your comments in regard to your most recent stay at the hotel.

I note your comments on the room size of some of our bedrooms. Although of no consolation or available to you at the time , we do have a large number of rooms which appear larger than those you mentioned. We are currently re-designing our smaller rooms to make them more comfortable for our guests.

On a brighter note I was pleased to learn that you felt my colleagues very pleasant and helpful.

Once again please accept my gratitude for bringing the matter to my attention.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 76 in Cardiff
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing