We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Value and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

This hotel has been given a makeover as part of IHG's upgrading of the Holiday Inn brand. The only disappointment was the size of the bathrooms - the tiniest I've ever seen. Access to the small/thin bath was restricted by the close proximity of the toilet, so if you have mobility issues, make sure you take this into account. And even the new-look curved shower curtain rail wasn't enough to stop you getting caught up in the curtain whilst showering.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Was even allowed to check-in around 11am.

There was a wedding reception being held in the hotel when we stayed. Although the function room was on the first floor, we could hear the music up on the fifth floor, although the noise was more noticeable in the bathroom, suggesting the music was being "transmitted" up through the plumbing. That said, it must have stopped between 12.30am and 1am, as it didn't keep us awake.

The breakfast buffet selection was good and represented good value for money.

You can't fault the location. It's right opposite the Castle - and to the side of the Millennium Stadium - although you can't see into it - and sufficiently away from the main areas of night-life to offer a safe and quiet area to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following you recent visit.

I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your visit. In reference to your comment o the size of bathrooms in instances of mobility, we do have 4 specially designed accessible rooms with ample turning space for wheel chairs and other rooms to assist for other disabilities.

Once again thank you for the review and I look forward to welcome you back t the Holiday Inn And Cardiff in future.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    477
    275
    70
    34
See reviews for
171
369
64
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

I recently stayed at the hotel for the weekend, and from start to finish the experience was fantastic.
The receptionist (Chris) received me in a very friendly and helpful manner, dealing with my questions and requests efficiently and with a smile.
The bedroom was very spacious, clean and looked newly refurbished. The shower was decent and the bed very comfortable (with a selection of pillow types).
I appreciated the small 'extras' such as free newspaper and snacks on reception.
Check out was dealt with quickly and efficiently, with the same friendly and approachable manner from the staff.
Overall my experience was wholly positive and extremely good value for money. If I ever visit Cardiff again, this will be my choice of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your recent visit.

I was delighted to learn that you totally enjoyed your stay from start to finish.

Once again thank you for taking the time to visit and post a review and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn and Cardiff in the near future.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Myself and 3 friends travelled from London to attend a wedding and stayed in the Cardiff Holiday Inn. Cardiff was extra busy owing to the Cricket, and bank holiday stag and hen weekends groups.

From start to finish, the stay was a real pleasure and complete surprise. Welsh cakes on reception, free Sunday times delivered, clean, huge spacious rooms, brand new flat screen tvs, tea and coffee, iron, ironing board, trouser press. The customer service was excellent, friendly staff who arranegd for taxis, arranged for wake up calls. One of my friends forget her mobile charger, she rang reception and they came up with a box of chargers.

As someone who doesnt normally stay in budget hotels, I was very impressed, and would definately recommend Holiday Inn Cardiff. I am someone who is not easily impressed, but when praise is due, I will give it.

Well done holiday inn cardiff!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london-speaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following you recent visit.

I was delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay whilst attending a wedding in Cardiff and in particular the hospitality shown to you by my colleagues.

Once again thank you for the review and I look forward to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn and Cardiff in future.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We hadn't been to Cardiff before and wanted a little break there. The Holiday Inn was very nice, good location (not right in the centre, but not too far), spacious rooms, very clean, although I thought bed could have been more comfortable. Nice large flatscreen TV. Tea/coffee making facility. Iron and board. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Being leisure travellers we thought (as with a lot of hotels), that the food was over-priced and lacking variation. Bring back good old fashioned English meals!!!! Having said that - just around the corner is a very good Wetherspoons (The Gatekeeper) - we had good breakfasts there and a couple of early evening meals.

Room Tip: Search the internet for best rates, which vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellie4Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following you recent visit.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay whilst visiting Cardiff for the first time. I note your comment on ours and that of other hotels and would mention that we do offer different meal deals to suit all. We also offer a wide range of price points for accommodation including a book early and save offer with discounts up to 30%.

Once again thank you for the review and I look forward to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn and Cardiff in future.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Location is great as the hotel is just across the Cardiff Castle and about 10 minutes walk to the Central Cardiff shopping area. Breakfast is exceptional as well. We booked from the Hotel's website for a double room with breakfast package and upon check in we were given twin rooms instead. Receptionist told us that we are given what room is available only at that time. We requested to be moved to a double room and was affirmed that our transfer will be the next day. No follow up call from the Hotel lobby and no transfer was made. The room was shabby , poorly lighted and as expected from a Holiday Inn hotel, no room slippers nor ear buds on offer. Maybe just the differences of Holiday Inn services around the world. I hope Holiday Inn catches up with the ever competitive Hotel industry as their amenities and services were better before. The name Holiday Inn doesn't live up to its name.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwattya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following you recent visit.

I was pleased to learn that you thought our location was great and breakfast exceptional but was disappointed to learn that we did not respond to your initial request in ac timely manner. We do offer a range of products and would advise that items such as the extra toiletries etc are available when you purchase our executive package.

Once again thank you for the review and I look forward to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn and Cardiff in future.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

I have no idea how to begin. I'm from Malaysia going back to Cardiff for a short trip. I've booked my trip through a travel agent a couple months back and prior to the trip I've sent emails to confirm my bookings (specifically mentioned 4 persons) for a family room. I have gotten an email confirmation for 4 persons. When I checked in 2 days ago, they gave me a family room but with just 1 double bed and nothing was done for my other 2 guest. I've made the complain and the staff was just not listening to me. She keep saying that its for 2 persons for a family room. I have explained and confirmed with my travel agent that it was booked for 4 persons. Nonetheless they insist that it is correct and its not their problem. I was upset with the attitude and the service the staff had given me when I had a problem with my bookings. We have then sorted out the matter (so I have though). The next day I have discovered in my billing for extra charges on my room. I was told that this was for the extra 2 persons. I was surprised by this as i thought this was sorted out as of the day before. I have check with the staff and again they brushed me off saying that its nothing and dont worry about it they will take care of it. Its now the third day and not only they did not erase off the extra charge, but there is a second charge added as of today. I have went to make another complaint and you guess again, they just brush me off.

Secondly the internet. I asked whether I could use 2 laptops and 1 iphone to connect to the internet and they said yea. But after I had done so I only found out that I can only connect with 2. I called back and the staff now said no you can only use 2.

I have 2 more days more and I as it is it has ruined my stay here.

I have stayed in many holiday inns around the world and to be honest the staff here is one of the worst I have ever meet. They don't listen to you, they snub you in may ways and what is worst nothing is being done to solve my issues in the end, especially coming all the way from Malaysia.

Room Tip: Check the most recent unfavorable comments first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank See76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

As you are still staying at the hotel could I please suggest you ask for myself or my Duty Manager who may be able to assist you with your concerns.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

The rooms are outdated and the bathrooms in serious need of a refurb. Good location though. I'd stay in the Hilton. Similar price but brilliant rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helloson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing