We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Holiday Inn let down by noise and small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Has everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. However we stayed on a Saturday and were kept awake until midnight with the music from a wedding on 1st floor. We were on the 6th floor so can only imagine how bad it must have been on the lower floors.

No warning of wedding before booking and no attempt to turn down music or bass for other guests.

Would I stay here again? On a weekday yes but on a Friday or Saturday night not worth the risk if you want a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark_ncl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

First of all the location for this hotel is fantastic, its right next to the Millenium Stadium and also easy walking distance to the town centre for bars and restaurants.
Unfortunately a lot of other people were also taking advantage of this location during our stay, so the hotel was busy and full. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are looking for peace and quiet.
The public areas of the hotel are quite nice (although the lifts struggle to cope when the hotel is full), and the rooms had a decent flat screen TV but otherwise nothing to write home about.
I booked 3 non-smoking rooms and unfortunately the previous guest had been smoking in one of them. Not the hotel's fault, except the cleaners had missed the cigarette still in the room! The only alternative we were offered was another smoking room. Not what I expect as a Priority Club Platinum member.

Room Tip: Avoid weekends with big events nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

stayed on 14/15th June during Take That concerts. Hotel was very busy but the staff were extremely efficient and courteous the whole time and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were a little dated but spacious and all had good ize lcd tvs. Excellent location for the city and the stadium was right next door. We could even hear Take That going through their sound checks before the concert. Enjoyable stay all round.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benbec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review in regard to your recent visit.

I was delighted to learn that you not only enjoyed your visit to Cardiff for the Take That Concert but also that it trip was made all the more pleasurable by my colleagues.

I trust we will be able to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn and Cardiff in the near future.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Positive- Dan on reception is very helpful; Good choice at breakfast; Location is brilliant.

Negative- Toilet didn't work properly; Air con didn't work properly; Could have done with 2 pillows per person; Housekeeping walked into room at 9am when we were still in it-didn't even knock first; Room service- don't even get me started!! Out of 4 meals 1 was correct, side orders were forgotten, not enough cutlery/napkins for diners, out of 4 deserts 1 was correct. food was overpriced, lukewarm and not as described on menu; Bathroom could do with updating (cracked/stained tiles and mouldy bath seal) and cleaning properly; Sheets although clean were marked; Charge for internet; Car parking charges.

And then, they tried to overcharge us when checking out!!

Will not use a Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatWhite06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review in regard to your recent visit.

I was disappointed to learn that you did not fully enjoy your stay. I will review your comments to see what learning's we can take in order to improve our guest experience.

Thank you once again for bringing the matter to my attention.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We checked in but gone 2pm our room was still being cleaned. We paid nearly £250 for a family room for four, and the room was small and the air conditioning didn't work.

We were staying one night and were woken by housekeeping at 9.00 to clean room, even though we were checking out that day by midday.

We mentioned both to reception, but she was unhelpful and quite rude as if it was our problem. I wouldn't hurry back. Expensive and poor service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redheadDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Having just got back from the H I C C Centre just had 4 relaxing days. Think the only complaint is that the room seemed to be cramped perhaps we have been spoilt in the past with spacious rooms mainly being 625 i think it was. This time we were in room 632. One more thing the car park does seem to get full pretty quick dont know if the staff park there if they did the perhaps they should park on the rugby club carpark. Once agin thankyou for still having smoking rooms. One last thing the fire alarms did not go of the first time we have stayed and not gone off

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulus1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent visit.

I was pleased to note that we were able to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn and Cardiff.

I note your comments on the car park; we are fortunate that we do have one of of the larger on site car parks for a city centre hotel and if there is an issue we do co-operate with Cardiff Rugby Club to try and accommodate all.

Once again thank you for your comments and custom and I look forward to welcome you back yet again.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The Holiday Inn is very well located within short walking distances of Cardiff Castle, the mall and the city centre. Our room was very comfortable with views of the Millennium Stadium and the river. There was plenty of space in the room to move around as well as a modern bathroom which was very clean.

The bar / lounge is perfect to relax in after a day of sightseeing and the meal was restaurant quality. The staff were very friendly and we got some great tips on Cardiff and how to get around, things to see etc.

The only negative comment I would make is in relation to the stained carpet. This was right in front of where the mini bar used to be and it wasn’t a good look. I would recommend staying at the Holiday Inn when visiting Cardiff. Cardiff is a great place to visit, especially Cardiff Castle.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review following your recent visit.

I was delighted to learn that you and your partner enjoyed your stay and that you found both the Holiday Inn and Cardiff a place well worth visiting.

I note your comment on the carpet which we will rectify.

Once again thank you for taking the time to visit and post a review.

Dermot Keegan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 74 in Cardiff
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £47 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing