We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay thanks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the past few years. The staff are always welcoming, the rooms clean and beds comfy. Beer and bar not great but it is close to the city centre where many great restaurants and pubs are within walking distance. Small car park so book a space in advance if you can.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank NorthallertonHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your comments and your ongoing loyalty.

I am glad you enjoy your stays here, and look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

How is possible in this day and age to charge such ridiculous prices for wifi? It is a basic need of most business stays and holiday inn claims to cater for business stays. The hotel is typical Holiday inn, overpriced rooms, bar and restaurant inline with the wifi costs. Have to say it was very clean and tidy and staff (mostly!) friendly.
Above reception was a list of room prices £359 standard! It's Castle Street, Cardiff not the Champs Élysées, Paris! Who are they trying to kid. There are nicer hotels in Cardiff and at much better rates, not a lover of Holiday Inn hotels and this stay ( not booked by me!) hasn't convinced me to use them more.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank ASM9633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your comments and I was most pleased to hear that you found our hotel clean and the team friendly and welcoming.

I am sorry that all your requirements were not met, and that you felt our pricing when you stayed was not reasonable. We do ensure we offer great value at all times of the year and pricing can vary due to demand.

I have noted your comment regarding Wifi , whilst we do charge at present, this is for a premium service and not restricted as some 'free' internet offers are.

Again I am sorry that you were disappointed , as it is not our intention to have any dissatisfied guests and all your feed back will be used in a constructive manner.


kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great location but the rooms are really small and the bathrooms positively claustrophobic. Low points for me were the really hard, lumpy pillow (labelled 'soft') and the £16 wifi charge. Breakfast was great except I was given a chipped cup. On the plus side it does have a reasonable sized car park, it's close to the main shopping area and the staff are very friendly. There are better hotels in Cardiff. I won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuesdayChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that we were unable to meet your requirements for your recent trip and visit to us.

I have taken all your feedback in a constructive manner and will make changes with my team where appropriate.

Thank you for choosing to stay here for your recent visit.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Arrived to check in and the staff were lovely. Very friendly and welcoming! A seamless experience.

The room 323, has to be the smallest room I've slept in for years. It looked a bit dated, the bed was a small double bed which kind of gave us the feel of being in someone's "guest room" rather than a hotel room and the towels were very, very small. I have a 36inch waist and couldn't wrap one around my waist. But as we only stayed for one night, it was OK.

We asked for a taxi to be called and that didn't quite happen as we hoped for.

The bar staff wasn't as friendly but we were in a good mood so we didn't mind. (Smile, Pedro!) :)

The breakfast staff was lovely. Nice when greeting and Callum who was sorting us out with coffee was very nice too. Food was above average but as we didn't pre-book, it was on the expensive side £30 for 2

We forgot our iPad and without a problem the staff made sure it got to us, which we felt was again a great show of service. We were also surprised by the amount of local people working there! All very good! Will hopefully be back soon. (But not in room 323)

Room Tip: If they say "Your room is number 323", ask for another one! :) (unless you're very sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ioansaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your review.

On the whole I am glad the team presented themselves in their usual genuine friendly manner, which I can assure you is usually the case for them all...

You will be please to note that we will be moving to a new linen supplier next year and providing larger towels. As with most hotels we have a mix of rooms to suit all requirements, so if visiting again, please drop in a request and allocating a larger room will be no issue.

Thank you for choosing us and I look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Friendly staff, great view out room window, clean, good facilities, comfortable, great breakfast for additional £5. Central location - easy walk to shopping centres (brisk 5 minutes). The lift does make a disturbing creaking noise until late at night (and we were not directly next to it) - it didn't bother me but if you were sensitive to noise it could be very disturbing.

Room Tip: ask to be as far from lift as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anani78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your review and choosing us to stay whilst visiting this great city of ours recently.

I am pleased to note you found the team friendly and welcoming, and enjoyed your stay.

The comments re the lift have been passed on to our maintenance contractors in order that they can rectify this issue.

Best Regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

As with all Holiday Inns you know what you are getting with this hotel. The reception staff are very friendly and professional. The bar staff were good too. This hotel is just across the road from the castle and a few mins from the Main Street, the shopping is close by too. The train station is 15mins walk. There is a car park and it's the biggest one that I have found as a hotel car park so far in Cardiff. Sometimes when I've stayed at other Cardiff hotels the car parks have been quite small and you have to find somewhere else to park.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for choosing us to stay and for taking the time to note your comments on this site.

I am glad you had a great stay and you found the facilities matched the service offered by the team.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here with a work function in Cardiff castle and found it to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in. From the second you check in you are made to feel welcome and nothing it any trouble for the staff. My room was huge, spotlessly clean with everything I needed for an over night stay. The view overlooking the river was lovely both day and night.
Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. It set me up for the day.
When I come home I realised I had left my phone charger in my room so I rang them and they are posting it straight back to me. What a lovely experience and when I staying in Cardiff overnight again I will stay here again and again. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Liane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

What a great review, thank you so much.

It is lovely to hear how engaging the team were from the moment you checked in.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £51 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing