We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resonable hotel though noisy at the weekends” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Resonable hotel though noisy at the weekends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Having stayed at this hotel before I decided to use it again for a short break on a Friday/Saturday which was a mistake as there was loud music until 1am on the Friday night from the bar downstairs which prevented a good nights sleep.

The room was a reasonable size and fairly standard though was a clean. I didn't eat in the hotel this time as there are plenty of nearby restaurants.

The hotel is situated in a good location though there are better hotels in Cardiff and I wouldn't stay at this one over a weekend given the disco though have previously stayed during the week and its been fine

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-H8465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I am sorry that your stay was disturbed on this occasion from noise from a party in the hotel.

We do have functions on in the hotel during December, as do most of our competitors, and every effort is made to manage the noise in conjunction with other guests staying for different reasons.

My apologies once again.

Kind regards and have an enjoyable Christmas.

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    466
    271
    68
    34
See reviews for
168
363
63
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Work's Christmas Party at Midnight at Monte Carlo included an overnight stay at the Holiday Inn, on arrival we were greeted warmly, but only given one door key, weren't asked if we wanted 2 even though we booked in as a couple - no drama until later - the receptionist booked us a taxi for our evenings fun - the room was clean, quiet and pleasant - the shower was amazing, a good full pressure hot shower

On returning as a group from Monte Carlo i briefly lost my husband and therefore had to request a 2nd door card, which wasn't a problem, but thought it would have been the norm to give out 2 to 2 people in a room - a quiet night was had in the hotel even though we were advised of Christmas Parties being booked at the hotel by letter left in full view when we arrived at the room, we also, as have others on here, struggled to turn down the heater/turn on the a/c-fan, admittedly we didn't inform reception at the time, but merely opened the window and opps forgot to mention it in the morning - breakfast was amazing apart from the fact we had to ask 3 times for tea

would definitely return as hotel is definitely well located, great shower and breakfast :)

Room Tip: Backside rooms are quieter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitabhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments on your recent stay whilst enjoying Christmas festivities in Cardiff.

I am glad you had a good stay, and thank you for your feed back. It is usual to ask all guests when checking in if they require a second key, apologies that this did not happen in your case.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

For a City Centre hotel this really was a very good experience. Easy to drive to from the M4 and a good sized car park which is not too expensive (& large spaces). We found all the staff we encountered at reception and in the bar and restaurant to be very friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was fine - huge bed and plenty of storage space, although the bathroom was a little dated with over-bath shower and an ill fitting curtain which allowed the floor to flood. As with many hotels the room was too warm and lots of road noise which is perhaps inevitable in the city centre.
We came for a 'party night' which was very enjoyable. Good service and the food was reasonable for mass catering, though our group of 18 were placed on two tables of 9 - surely most groups will be couples who want to sit together - we easily reorganised into an 8 & 10 though!
Excellent location, just a 5 minute level stroll to the main shopping streets or to the castle and right alongside the millennium stadium.
We would happily come again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road have a better view but will have traffic noise - ask for a room facing the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I am glad you had an enjoyable stay when attending a party here recently, and that you enjoyed the party and food also.

Your comments are noted and helpful for our de brief in preparation for next year.

Many thanks

Kind regards and seasons greetings.

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed one night in this hotel for a course on the 4th December 2013. The staff were very friendly. I was given a room by the road which had traffic noise that was very loud. I requested a change of room and they moved me to a room at the back of the hotel without too much trouble. I The hotel lacked the usual comforts in the room. I had to phone down for a sewing kit (emergency repair of a button). This sort of thing I would have expected to be in the room already. It just had 1 bar of soap. The rest you had to request, personally it is not really ideal - it gave a hostel/travel lodge vibe to the stay. Breakfast was varied and okay. Nothing special. Lunch was actually quite nice - included in the course I was attending. Overall, I would stay here again only if I had to (i.e. if a course was being held at the hotel).

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back rather than by the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leez786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review, and I am glad you had an enjoyable stay overall.

The items you have noted will be reviewed for action where appropriate.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

When I arrived, it was quite late and I did not know the area, so I decided to eat in the hotel bar. I ordered the lasagne, expecting that to be a relatively easy thing to make that would be difficult to get wrong. However, when it (finally!!) arrived, it was over cooked and almost impossible to chew around the edges and there were unidentifiable white lumps in it that were rather chewy, and neither the staff or I could work out what they were. I will never eat there again but the room was fairly good. Decent size, good television reception, central location and nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fesmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that the food was not as it should have been, which we will feed back to our team here.

You will be pleased to note that we have changed our menus since March, and have received excellent feedback on our new offering, although I do feel in this case it was an isolated incident of the menu item not being prepared properly.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Had an enjoyable weekend break here - hotel well situated near shops and Millenium Stadium. Room 212 was a good size except for the bathroom which was far too small. Good blackout curtains on windows and good to have a choice of pillow firmness. One niggle it was far too hot in the room during the night.

On the Sunday enjoyed people watching from the bar and reading the Sunday papers there. We also had a bar meal for lunch on the Sunday. Excellent choice and food was hot and well presented. All the staff we came across were polite and helpful. An excellent weekend break in Cardiff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubble646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your response and for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Cardiff.

I am glad you had a great time and that the team looked after you well.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I feel so disappointed with regards to the Christmas dinner we had last Saturday. It was the worst main course I have ever experienced. The quality was terrible. I feel it was just a TV dinner that was put in the microwave to warm up and served. Shame on you Holiday Inn. You have tarnished the brand. Starter & desert were average but the main - pure yuck :(

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your Christmas meal. I can assure you all food is prepared and cooked freshly each day, however your comments will be used as part of our post Christmas de brief when reviewing our menus.

I do hope that this has not taken the shine from your festive plans , and I would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing