We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$101
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,380 results
Traveller rating
375
570
313
82
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
570
313
82
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmillennium stadiumcity centreopposite the castlearms parkcar parkbute parkexcellent locationon site parkingreception stafffamily roomwould stay againexecutive roombreakfast was excellentstayed here for one nightgood nights sleepbars and restaurantsfree parking
Filter
Updating list...
887 - 892 of 1,380 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

2 nights on business. Surprisingly cheap for a Hotel located within the city centre, but then you get what you pay for, as the saying goes.
Staff friendly and helpful
Parking ample
Well located
Hotel is dated and in need of refurbishment . Double bed was actually two singles pushed together. Paper thin walls, so yes very noisy , I could hear neighbours on the loo umm nice not !.,
Wifi dreadful, hello it is 2014 !!
Shower very poor and bathroom very basic, not that clean either
Didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment
I would not recommend as found other hotels close by of similar price but far superior

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your stay was not all that you expected, but pleased to note you found us competitively priced with a welcoming team attentive to your needs

I shall of course follow up on your comments and am of course grateful for you bringing these to our attention.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

And so, we arrive easily, great access, plenty of parking. Travelled to visit family and booked two rooms, one for my husband and I and one for my Mother. Our rooms were not ready initially as we arrived at 10.30am but our bags were taken and stored for us. When we arrived back, the rooms were all prepared and were extremely spacious, light, airy and with hugs beds - larger that SuperKing. We were on the 3rd floor, on the road side - it is worth pointing out here that I was therefore expecting some traffic/city centre noise - there was none! Extremely quiet and peaceful. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful, giving my party adjoining rooms. Bar staff were jovial and chatty, and the atmosphere was friendly and competent. Breakfast was actually one of the best I have had from the 'buffet' style brigade, mushrooms and tomatoes that were proper;y cooked as opposed to being warmed through and raw, excellent sausages, black pudding, choice of eggs etc. Great fruit, juice, yoghurt, breads and meat/cheese choice. Even gluten free bread to be had for me - definite well worth the £9.50 cost. Heavens, almost with going there for breakfast even if your not staying. Great range of newspapers on hand, free on charge, on way into dining room, all creating a memorable, relaxed and slightly indulgent feeling stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being on the road side - it was surprisingly quiet
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I am so glad we provided a 'Cheeky' getaway for your family and by the sound of things you had a really great time with us.

Thank you for your review, and I shall pass on your kind remarks to the team.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends stayed here for my hen weekend and had a lovely stay. The rooms were very clean and the staff attentive and friendly. Breakfast was very good and the hotel is in prime place in Cardiff city centre. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank becca_boo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your review and for choosing us to stay with when you held your hen weekend in Cardiff.

We have a great range of attractions and reasons to visit the city which is why it appeals to so many people, I am really glad that it ticked your box for your celebrations.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point .

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stay here twice a year whilst working in Cardiff and, this time, noticed things had definitely changed for the better. Most obvious was the improved morale and attitude of the staff - made me wonder if there'd been a management change. Rooms seemed to have been at least part refurbished and much cleaner. Restaurant staff were delightful and quality of food seems much improved. Looking forward to going back in May/June.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear, facing the old Cardiff Arms Park Rugby ground are much quieter. Also some rooms have adjoining doors which are not very soundproof - best to check this out.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay much more this time around, and thank you for your kind comments regarding the team who looked after you.

I am delighted to see that you will be visiting us again early in the Summer, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A great location, helpful staff. good beds..... but minus points. The biggest was the evening meal - my group as well as pretty well everyone else had to wait ages for their meals. A single course took me over an hour and those having dessert were closing on 2. More kitchen staff perhaps? The rooms are a bit tired in places too. Bar prices are high, especially sundries.
Breakfast is good with a lot of variety and even a pancake machine.
A good place to stay but could be better. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby that are better - and cheaper.

Room Tip: Get even number rooms as these tend to be on the Millenium Stadium side and away from the street noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigersFan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your review, and choosing us to stay with recently.

I am sorry that there seems to have been a lapse in our usual high standards in the restaurant, of course we shall ensure that any issues encountered on the evening when you dined have been investigated and learnings passed through out the team.

I am glad that you found the team helpful and that the location suited your needs well.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews