We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
716 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Have to agree with other reviewers. Great staff on reception and inthe restaurant made it a very pleasant stay. Although I could not get the platinum club upgrade on one of the nights they sorted me out with the stuff usually found in the room and allocated me to a bigger room. All round good experience

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for choosing us to stay at , and for being such a loyal customer to our brands.

I am very please to read that the team went to extra efforts to ensure your IHG Rewards status was acknowledged, and even more so to see how well they generally looked after you during your stay.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    469
    271
    68
    34
See reviews for
168
364
63
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Clean, pleasant atmosphere and totally trumped by great staff. These people know how to make you feel welcome and cared for! I felt like I was greeted by family every day. The food was interesting and tasty, and the atmosphere delightfully interesting.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the castle gardens. If you are a sports fan choose the other side to lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for a lovely review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the team so engaging.

This is what they are good at, and it is nice when it is recognised, I have already passed on your kind remarks to them all.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent location and facilities but for hotels to be charging for internet connection is completely unacceptable nowadays, many hotels in Cardiff provide this free and I would choose one of those in the future despite the fact that everything else was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I am sorry you were unhappy that the WiFi at present is chargeable in our hotel, please when booking next enquire about signing into our fantastic IHG Rewards Club, this along with many other benefits will entitle you to complimentary WiFi from the summer of this year.

I do hope this will give you confidence to utilise our hotels in the future.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Pros:
Friendly desk staff.
Clean.
Good location.

Cons:
Freezing cold rooms (to the point were you don't actually want to get out of bed.)
Provided electric heater was rubbish.
Smallish double bed.
Tiny bathroom.
Wifi is £5 an hour?!

Not one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in, but there are better 3 star hotels in Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for choosing us to stay with recently when you visited Cardiff, I am sorry however certain aspects did not meet with your expectations.

My self and the team take great pride in ensuring we do our best for every guest, and we shall certainly review your comments for areas in which may need addressing.

My apologies once again.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Booked this through airmiles having read is amazing reviews on the avios site. Arrived and was astonished that the car park was not complementary, even more so when I saw the usual tariff was £350 pn.
Staff were lovely, room was small and in desperate need of updating, dingey carpet, fixtures, bathroom etc.
View was superb but a very noisy location. Thankfully the bed linen was immaculate.
I think to charge £350 you have to be aiming for the standards of the Andaz in London, with its plush, large, technology filled rooms and free bars this room barely warrants a £125 tariff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you found certain aspects of your stay not to expectation, but am grateful for raising these so we have the chance to rectify where possible.

I shall check the tariff display and other comments that you have raised.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

2 nights on business. Surprisingly cheap for a Hotel located within the city centre, but then you get what you pay for, as the saying goes.
Staff friendly and helpful
Parking ample
Well located
Hotel is dated and in need of refurbishment . Double bed was actually two singles pushed together. Paper thin walls, so yes very noisy , I could hear neighbours on the loo umm nice not !.,
Wifi dreadful, hello it is 2014 !!
Shower very poor and bathroom very basic, not that clean either
Didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment
I would not recommend as found other hotels close by of similar price but far superior

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your stay was not all that you expected, but pleased to note you found us competitively priced with a welcoming team attentive to your needs

I shall of course follow up on your comments and am of course grateful for you bringing these to our attention.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

And so, we arrive easily, great access, plenty of parking. Travelled to visit family and booked two rooms, one for my husband and I and one for my Mother. Our rooms were not ready initially as we arrived at 10.30am but our bags were taken and stored for us. When we arrived back, the rooms were all prepared and were extremely spacious, light, airy and with hugs beds - larger that SuperKing. We were on the 3rd floor, on the road side - it is worth pointing out here that I was therefore expecting some traffic/city centre noise - there was none! Extremely quiet and peaceful. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful, giving my party adjoining rooms. Bar staff were jovial and chatty, and the atmosphere was friendly and competent. Breakfast was actually one of the best I have had from the 'buffet' style brigade, mushrooms and tomatoes that were proper;y cooked as opposed to being warmed through and raw, excellent sausages, black pudding, choice of eggs etc. Great fruit, juice, yoghurt, breads and meat/cheese choice. Even gluten free bread to be had for me - definite well worth the £9.50 cost. Heavens, almost with going there for breakfast even if your not staying. Great range of newspapers on hand, free on charge, on way into dining room, all creating a memorable, relaxed and slightly indulgent feeling stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being on the road side - it was surprisingly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I am so glad we provided a 'Cheeky' getaway for your family and by the sound of things you had a really great time with us.

Thank you for your review, and I shall pass on your kind remarks to the team.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing