We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, uncomfortable bed, but nice breakfast and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms, uncomfortable bed, but nice breakfast and helpful staff”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The room was tiny (much smaller than a lot of London hotels), with poor lighting (only two lampshades) and poor sound-proofing (it is next to the stadium). However, the worst thing was the horrendously uncomfortable bed: it was a small double with a massive dip in the middle, which meant my partner and I were rolling into the middle all night. When we pointed this out to the staff, they were sympathetic and gave us our car parking for free. The breakfast was very good - good quality bacon and sausages, in a light and airy dining area, with attentive staff. But I probably would find somewhere else to stay next time I was in Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitaljess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, and also making us aware of this issue with your room which will assist us in addressing this.

I am glad you found the rest of the hotel to your liking, please next time when booking in Cardiff do contact me directly so I may over see your booking and allocate a room more suitable to your requirements generally.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    488
    279
    71
    35
See reviews for
178
372
64
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

As far as location goes this hotel ticks all the boxes! Right next to Millenium stadium for sports enthusiasts, just across the road from the castle for culture buffs and the park opposite has the water bus down to Cardiff Bay for entertainment dining and drinking, shops and bars were 2 minutes away the bus stop the same and the train station about 10 minutes walk so what more could you ask for!We could have had an executive room but as we had a child we plumped for a family room which were a great size although the bathrooms are quite tiny the loo is almost in the bath!!The walls do appear quite thin we could hear all of next doors conversation! We had to swap rooms due to a leak and oddly it was the same room but two floors higher, but it had clearly had a makeover, the bed was slightly smaller but the layout made the room more spacious and more thought had gone into placing lights over mirrors and a long mirror for dressing so I would plump for floor 4, better views too. We had the HB stay which is fantastic value and we had a great meal and good service and the breakfast was as good as some 4* hotels we love the pancake makers!. The staff here are so helpful and attentive. We didn't experience any street noise like other guests but it was Sunday. We will return to Cardiff and we will stay here again without a doubt as it offers fantastic access to the city and at an affordable price!

Room Tip: Depending on which view you want the park/castle view rooms are on the front..but to avoid road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and complimentary review.

It is lovely to hear how the team have looked after you, and overcame an issue that you experienced.

I am delighted to see that you will be booking again with us for your next stay, please do contact us directly when making your booking so we can allocate a room to your preference.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
754 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Have to agree with other reviewers. Great staff on reception and inthe restaurant made it a very pleasant stay. Although I could not get the platinum club upgrade on one of the nights they sorted me out with the stuff usually found in the room and allocated me to a bigger room. All round good experience

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for choosing us to stay at , and for being such a loyal customer to our brands.

I am very please to read that the team went to extra efforts to ensure your IHG Rewards status was acknowledged, and even more so to see how well they generally looked after you during your stay.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Clean, pleasant atmosphere and totally trumped by great staff. These people know how to make you feel welcome and cared for! I felt like I was greeted by family every day. The food was interesting and tasty, and the atmosphere delightfully interesting.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the castle gardens. If you are a sports fan choose the other side to lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for a lovely review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the team so engaging.

This is what they are good at, and it is nice when it is recognised, I have already passed on your kind remarks to them all.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent location and facilities but for hotels to be charging for internet connection is completely unacceptable nowadays, many hotels in Cardiff provide this free and I would choose one of those in the future despite the fact that everything else was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
I am sorry you were unhappy that the WiFi at present is chargeable in our hotel, please when booking next enquire about signing into our fantastic IHG Rewards Club, this along with many other benefits will entitle you to complimentary WiFi from the summer of this year.

I do hope this will give you confidence to utilise our hotels in the future.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Pros:
Friendly desk staff.
Clean.
Good location.

Cons:
Freezing cold rooms (to the point were you don't actually want to get out of bed.)
Provided electric heater was rubbish.
Smallish double bed.
Tiny bathroom.
Wifi is £5 an hour?!

Not one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in, but there are better 3 star hotels in Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for choosing us to stay with recently when you visited Cardiff, I am sorry however certain aspects did not meet with your expectations.

My self and the team take great pride in ensuring we do our best for every guest, and we shall certainly review your comments for areas in which may need addressing.

My apologies once again.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Booked this through airmiles having read is amazing reviews on the avios site. Arrived and was astonished that the car park was not complementary, even more so when I saw the usual tariff was £350 pn.
Staff were lovely, room was small and in desperate need of updating, dingey carpet, fixtures, bathroom etc.
View was superb but a very noisy location. Thankfully the bed linen was immaculate.
I think to charge £350 you have to be aiming for the standards of the Andaz in London, with its plush, large, technology filled rooms and free bars this room barely warrants a £125 tariff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you found certain aspects of your stay not to expectation, but am grateful for raising these so we have the chance to rectify where possible.

I shall check the tariff display and other comments that you have raised.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,046 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
1,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 73 in Cardiff
1,361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing