We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard rooms need refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The standard rooms are very small and need updating with new bathroom suites needed too. Very expensive for rugby weekends. The location is perfect though. Didn't try any food at the hotel but did use the bar which was very busy but good.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Roosterdap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review,

I am sorry that your expectation was not met with regard to your room, we do have a planned refurbishment of some rooms sections this year as part of our ongoing programme, so hopefully this will address some of the shortcomings you felt were present.

I am glad you had a good rugby weekend with us , and by the sound able to soak up the fantastic atmosphere here on Saturday.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great hotel, very clean and helpful staff. Great location. Stayed on 6th floor, nice view of the park. Nearby shopping etc.
Only downfall is that wifi is not free. as an international visitor and someone on business, internet is important. But at a cost of 16 GBP per night is disheartening. Hence the 3 star rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review , and I am glad you found everything as it should be , but with one exception.

The WiFi is chargeable and the benefit is the excellent connectivity that is available, we also as a company are introducing free WiFi to all IHG Rewards Members from the summer, so being a member of our loyalty programme will deliver even more benefits which I am sure as an international traveller you will appreciate.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I visit Cardiff regular and have stayed in lots of different hotels
I stay at the holiday inn Cardiff City centre and must say this is the best hotel I have stayed at in Cardiff. The hotel is very clean and the staff are first class.
On arrival you are welcomed by receptionists who are extremely polite and go out of their way to help you. The restaurant staff are really top of their profession and are the most helpful and polite staff you can meet. In the restaurant one girl really stands out ,and don't remember her name but believe she is probable polish .Her devotion to her job goes well above what is expected of her,she is so polite,helpful,she really makes you welcome and you really want to return over and over.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

I really quite like the title of your review...

Many thanks for taking the time to put down your thoughts on your recent stay, I am really pleased that the front of house team in reception and restaurant stood out in such a positive light.

I do hope we become your regular hotel when in Cardiff, and we look forward to welcoming you back on many occasions.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My 90 year old mum and I had a really pleasant overnight stay at this city centre hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable and had a pleasant view of the park and castle!
On our arrival we parked easily in a disabled bay very near to the entrance and after getting cases out of the boot of the car I slammed it shut (thinking that my mum was standing behind me with her walking aid) there was a horrendous scream and her fingers were trapped! I am only relating this as the hotel reception staff were brilliant and quickly had mum sitting in reception with ice on fingers and drinking a glass of water. I was checked in ahead of the queue whilst another receptionist taped mum's fingers up! Luckily after a sweet cup of tea and a rest in our room we were able to go and see a wonderful performance of "Carmen" at The Gate Arts Centre and returned to our comfy room for a good nights sleep.
The next morning we enjoyed a delicious self-service breakfast with plenty of choices.
We often visit Cardiff where my son and daughter-in-law live and will certainly stay at this hotel again. (full marks to friendly efficient staff throughout hotel)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review and I do hope your mother has fully recovered now.

It sounds like the team did everything possible to comfort you mother and it is really kind for you to acknowledge this in your review.

I do hope there will be another performance soon that you wish to see and that we have the opportunity once more to welcome you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Although the hotel is located in the city centre, right opposite the Castle, it is easy to drive to with its own car park at the rear. It is ideal for exploring the city, attending events at St David's Hall, rugby matches, etc. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is good and the rooms clean and comfortable with all the amenities one expects of a modern hotel. Our second stay here and we will return in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms immediately adjacent to the lift lobby, as guests coming up to bed later in the night ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review and also for your repeat custom, it is most appreciated.

I am glad you find all the amenities and services as they should be, and importantly the way the team come across makes all the difference.

I do hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hi all,
stayed once again at the Holiday Inn in Cardiff over last weekend for the Wales v France game.

The hotel is in an excellent location, the staff are great and the room is good and clean...

HOWEVER - can you believe the hotel put there prices up THREE TIMES over match weekends?

id normally get a deal there for around 85 to 100 pounds, last weekend it cost close to £300 !!! for the match weekend!!!!!!!

Now i understand that they are popular and get booked quick but £300 a nigh hotel they are not!

Maybe the hotel could be a little less cruel to its regulars and supporters and not rob them over match weekends and expect us to suport them the rest of the year.

Im sorry about this but its just not right

The hotel is excellent i thoroughly recommend it, but im never staying there over match weekends again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianlima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review and for choosing us to stay with whilst attending the recent rugby international.

I am glad you found the team attentive and the hotel standards to your satisfaction.

We will of course take on board your feedback re the rate for future reference, and I do hope it will not deter you from using us again in the future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

My son had an interview for Cardiff uni so stayed here for one night. Excellent value for money, spotlessly clean with friendly well informed staff who were more than happy to provide directions/information. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Ywladfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

I am really pleased to learn that we provided 'Excellent Service' for your recent trip to Cardiff.

I sincerely hope your sons interview went well, and if Cardiff is his first choice then he gets offered a place.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £52 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing