We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Management Skills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Bethesda, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Management Skills”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband was attending a meeting in Cardiff and was booked into the Holiday Inn for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable on the 6th floor overlooking the river Taff and Cardiff rugby stadium. The bathroom was small but served the purpose. Breakfast and Dinner were acceptable.
My husband is very hard of hearing and unfortunately his hearing aid broke, and we needed a solution to the problem as he would not have been able to hear in the meeting he was due to attend. We decided to go to the audiology department in the nearest hospital. Richard the general manager of the Holiday Inn was helping in the dining room at breakfast time I approached him to enquire about the bus routes to the University hospital's audiology department, Without hesitation, he offered a taxi at the hotel's expense up to the hospital and we were transported there, a distance of about three miles, in a very short time. Even though the hospital was unable, or unwilling, to assist, we are very grateful for Richard's generosity and willingness to help. We do not know of any other hotel which would go out of their way to assist their guests in this way. He also enquired later if our problem had been solved. The ladies at reception were also very helpful and understanding.
Thank you Richard and your staff , your help was greatly appreciated and we will certainly be returning to the Holiday Inn, Cardiff in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWalesGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
What can I say, except thank you for your review and also for choosing us to stay with.

I am glad that I was able to assist, and encourage my team to do the same which I hope is apparent from the reviews we get on here.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Please do drop me a line next time you book with us.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    496
    287
    74
    36
See reviews for
181
384
64
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tregaron, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The rooms are pretty decent, much what you'd expect. The best thing about this hotel is where it is, perfect location for the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Castle and all the shopping areas. The restaurant isn't all that, pretty basic food for inflated prices so go out to eat, there's plenty that's close enough to walk to and Cardiff is pretty accessible for wheelchair users too. The conference facilities are good and the catering staff do a great job of providing different break time treats every day so if you're the for several days there a good variety and although it's a little thing, it makes a difference.
Be aware that if there's is a big international sporting event on, you may end up having a sleepless night if you unfortunate enough to be on the same floor as a group of hard drinking fans.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the castle, it's not a deal breaker but it's better than looking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluehook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed review and for choosing us to stay with recently during your conference.

I am glad that we provided everything you needed and that the variation on our new Food For Thought concept for our meetings was memorable, tasty and different.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I am a business and Leisure traveler and use to be a IHG Platinum member but dropped back last year after feeling a lack of true recognition for high level loyalty usage. I am now an elite member of a competitors loyalty programe

Nevertheless I remain a frequent returning guest to the Holiday Inn Cardiff for both business and pleasure use. Please see my previous positive feedback for this hotel. I was the organiser of a local event which required me to book two nights accommodation on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis for myself and seven guests.

The first night was splendid and up to the usual standard that I have always experienced at the Holiday Inn Cardiff.

The second night was the exact opposite. Service in the restaurant was unacceptable and the food was of a unacceptable standard as to what is normally experienced. Along with other diners my group was waiting a total of two and a half hours to finish our food. The meals were mixed up, over cooked or cold and not of an acceptable standard. Some of my group were not given full portions as advertised on the menu and another member of my group was served her main meal thirty minutes after the remainder of the group had consumed theirs. Our waiting staff were repeatedly unsure of our orders and we were poorly attended to.

I note that guests at an adjoining table received a visit from the Manager to explain what had so badly gone wrong, but we were not offered such an explanation from anyone senior.

At the end of the night I complained to one of the waiters who explained that he was new to the role. I was subsequently seen by another member of the catering staff. I was told that the delay and poor quality food was due to a lack of staff and a large group of young sportsmen who had arrived unexpectedly for dinner in the restaurant. By way of compensation my group of seven adults was given one complimentary bottle of red wine as an apology.


I do not accept the explanation given of the unexpected group booking of young sportsmen. Surely there must have been a lack of consultation between the reception staff and the catering staff. Large groups of sportsmen do not just turn up unannounced at a hotel;

The severe slowness of the service led to my group splitting up from what was going to be a group social evening in Cardiff City Centre, instead a number of the group went to bed disillusioned.

As the organiser of the event I have been left professionally embarrassed.

This was certainly not the level of service I expected from the Holiday Inn Cardiff. I know from my previous stays they can achieve much better. The catering staff were doing their utmost in the most difficult of situations. This was a lack of management, a lack of co-ordination between front office and catering, and a lack of explanations.

Not good I am afraid. I will need to consider all my options for further business needs in Cardiff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
I am really sorry that your experience was as you describe for your stay last week.

We did have some isolated issues which affected service on the evening you have highlighted.

I feel it appropriate to go into these in more detail personally, and would be grateful if you could contact me at richard.platts@ihg.com in order that I can discuss and apologise directly.

I will also send a message via the facility on this forum to your Trip Advisor profile.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

stayed in this hotel for 1 night and was very happy. Staff were lovely, even getting me a heater when I arrived soaked from our lovely weather. The location is excellent, literally a 5 min walk to the centre with all the shops and across the road from Cardiff castle- I walked from the train station in about 10-15 mins. Didn't eat in restaurant for dinner, but the breakfast was good. Only minor complaint is there was a crack in the sink. Views from the room look over the river and the stadium, and I could see that being a problem on a match day if you were looking for a quiet stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
If I could choose my favourite Trip Advisor title this might well be it...

Thank you for your review and for choosing us, I am so glad you had a great time.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fortaleza, ce
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is just at the side of Cardiff Castle and minutes from the City Center. No better location to know Cardiff you could have. The rooms are clean, comfortable and with good views. The breakfast is very good and the hotel has a parking garage (paid). Very good option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your recent trip to Cardiff, and I am pleased to note that you had a great time with us.

Thank you for your review and I do hope you select us again if visiting this great city.

Kind regards

Richard Platts

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night whilst on business. Having stayed in many Holiday Inn hotels I know what sort of specification to expect. This was very clean in the room and all over the hotel. No complaints in that department.

Nor any complaints with the food, either dinner or breakfast.

The view at the back of the hotel, from the 6th floor, just about means you can see into the rugby ground, where there was training taking place. The location is adjacent to the Millennium Stadium, so I doubt if there is much chance of booking a room around match days!

The only downside was that parking is limited and has to be paid for. It's understandable as this is a city centre location. A notice directing guests to the car park would be helpful though, as I had to drive past and then come back again before spotting the entrance.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris1968_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Chris1968_13,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the parking. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Recently attended the Cardiff RHS Show. Wanted a hotel close to it. Well - right opposite as it turned out. This hotel is so beautifully situated for the castle, stadium, Bute Park and shopping. It also has a large car park! Admittedly you have to pay a day rate for that but it is much cheaper than car parks in the town. Fantastic. Great breakfast too. Buffet style. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thanks everybody.

Room Tip: Rooms on Castle Street have a great view of the castle and the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rapunzelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for this lovely review, lots of positives, the one that stands out for me is the team. They always go out of their way and this has shone through in your visit.

I do hope we see you again soon

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing