We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable & convenient”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over a very busy weekend (European Rugby Finals). Very convenient for the rugby stadiums (next door) and 5 mins walk to the town centre. Despite it being a very busy weekend with lots of rugby fans staying at the hotel, it was very quiet and seemed to have good sound insulation. Comfortable rooms, good breakfast and a bar which stayed open late - not much wrong with that.
Paid over the top of the normal rate due to the rugby (which is why we were there) but all the hotels were the same charging up to double their normal rates. At their normal rate it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBoy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for choosing us to stay with during the European Cup weekend.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and found everything to your liking.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    489
    279
    71
    35
See reviews for
178
373
64
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent - right in the centre of the City, just across the road from the castle and almost in the High Street. It is also next door to the Millennium Stadium (good if you are there for an event but I suspect noisy if you aren't).

Food is typical (not exciting but perfectly good). Hotel is clean, good sleep quality. The room was large and the air conditioning worked (it was noisy but could be switched off at night).

There is a good bit of parking - probably sufficient for everyone - at £10 per day.

BUT they charge £15 per day for Internet access. How can anyone charge for internet access these days? No hotel does it abroad - it would be like charging for towels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

The WiFi is chargeable at present to non IHG Rewards Members, however shortly all members will be able to receive complimentary access, registration is simple and has no cost with great benefits.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Above average Holiday Inn. Excellent location for city centre. Overlooks the Milenium stadium. Rooms decent size and clean and well maintained. Good size lobby and bar area. Plentiful car parking on site a little dear but convenient.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhinomanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay.

The time taken to write your review is most appreciated, and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Revisited recently to find the rooms have been freshened up with new paintwork and furniture. Makes a great difference. Ideally located whether business or leisure. Staff are friendly. Food acceptable quality. Only challenge is getting a room when Rugby games are on!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us once again.

I am glad you like the improvements to our rooms, and we have more planned over the coming months too.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfierulestheworld
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Pay well over £100 and still not get free WiFi in this day and age. Smacks of Ryan Air. Holiday Inn, come into the 21st Century, please!

Other than that all was fine. Worth paying extra for premier rooms to get extra space and good views over Bute Park.....

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alfierulestheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review, and your observations regarding our WiFi.

From July all our IHG Rewards members will be able to obtain complimentary access, for non members the registration process is simple and has no cost, with many other great benefits.

I do hope that this is a facility you will be able to make use of in the future.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was my first stay in a Holiday Inn and it was very pleasant. Refreshing decor, very comfortable room and bed, all lean and relaxing. The view was the football stadium, but opposite rooms overlook the castle! Food in the restaurant is excellent quality and lots to choose from. Especially at breakfast time. Would definitley stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I am so glad you had such a great stay.

Lots of our guest s enjoy the views from their rooms, be it over the stadium or the beautiful park opposite.


I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for one night on business (for the first time) on 12th May 2014.

I am now a regular Holiday Inn customer, being a member of their Rewards Club since December 2013.

The hotel is easy to find. The onsite parking is convenient, although chargeable, but which, I understand, represents good value compared to the local parking.

Check-in was a little slow. I arrived here at 17:30 (so I’d expect it to be a little busy). It took about 10 minutes, although the receptionist was apologetic about the wait. check out was smooth and with no queue (around 09:30).

My room was clean and comfortable, although not exactly soundproof. I could hear other guests from time to time, but I slept well. The bathroom was rather small.

I ate Dinner in the restaurant and the food was reasonable, and the service good. However, after dinner (about 19:30), when I went to the bar, they had run out of draught lager!

Breakfast was fine. I only had muesli, orange juice and coffee, but the service was good.

As I am yet to become an “Elite Member”, broadband was chargeable. I refuse to pay this, although it is true to say that this was made clear when booking.

All in all, it was a reasonably priced hotel (before you add on breakfast, internet and parking) in a central location. Location wasn’t an issue for me, as I was staying here enroute, and I didn’t venture into the City.

I’d stay here again, but would consider alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyM_and_IanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing us to stay with.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and found everything to your liking.

All IHG Rewards Members get WiFi access from July so hopefully that will be an added benefit as a brand standard when you book with us.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,046 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 73 in Cardiff
1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing