We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 28 May 2014

visited Cardiff on business, ideally located next to the Castle. Nice and quite on the night i stayed, may be different when theres an event at the stadium which is next door.
Good food, very friendly staff, clean room.

Room Tip: no wifi or gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhupinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I am glad you found all your needs met by the hotel and the team.

It does take a different complexion during rugby matches, but that all adds to the atmosphere!

Just to make you aware we have an affiliation with a local gym for all our residents to use.

I look forward to welcoming you back

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here last night for work reasons. The staff were incredibly helpful - they lent me scissors so I could cut my insoles & gave me a spare brolly as it was teeming down. The room was very big compared to the bathroom which was very small. The walls are a little thin & I could hear next door talking. Breakfast was lovely - I had a view over to the castle. Comfy bed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybird77733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review and it is lovely to hear how well the team looked after you.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over a very busy weekend (European Rugby Finals). Very convenient for the rugby stadiums (next door) and 5 mins walk to the town centre. Despite it being a very busy weekend with lots of rugby fans staying at the hotel, it was very quiet and seemed to have good sound insulation. Comfortable rooms, good breakfast and a bar which stayed open late - not much wrong with that.
Paid over the top of the normal rate due to the rugby (which is why we were there) but all the hotels were the same charging up to double their normal rates. At their normal rate it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBoy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for choosing us to stay with during the European Cup weekend.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and found everything to your liking.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent - right in the centre of the City, just across the road from the castle and almost in the High Street. It is also next door to the Millennium Stadium (good if you are there for an event but I suspect noisy if you aren't).

Food is typical (not exciting but perfectly good). Hotel is clean, good sleep quality. The room was large and the air conditioning worked (it was noisy but could be switched off at night).

There is a good bit of parking - probably sufficient for everyone - at £10 per day.

BUT they charge £15 per day for Internet access. How can anyone charge for internet access these days? No hotel does it abroad - it would be like charging for towels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

The WiFi is chargeable at present to non IHG Rewards Members, however shortly all members will be able to receive complimentary access, registration is simple and has no cost with great benefits.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Above average Holiday Inn. Excellent location for city centre. Overlooks the Milenium stadium. Rooms decent size and clean and well maintained. Good size lobby and bar area. Plentiful car parking on site a little dear but convenient.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Rhinomanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay.

The time taken to write your review is most appreciated, and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Revisited recently to find the rooms have been freshened up with new paintwork and furniture. Makes a great difference. Ideally located whether business or leisure. Staff are friendly. Food acceptable quality. Only challenge is getting a room when Rugby games are on!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us once again.

I am glad you like the improvements to our rooms, and we have more planned over the coming months too.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Pay well over £100 and still not get free WiFi in this day and age. Smacks of Ryan Air. Holiday Inn, come into the 21st Century, please!

Other than that all was fine. Worth paying extra for premier rooms to get extra space and good views over Bute Park.....

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alfierulestheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review, and your observations regarding our WiFi.

From July all our IHG Rewards members will be able to obtain complimentary access, for non members the registration process is simple and has no cost, with many other great benefits.

I do hope that this is a facility you will be able to make use of in the future.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £52 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing