We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meeting venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Meeting venue”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night. Lovely room. Good meals. Very good staff. Very central location for shops or stadium. Much better than Novotel Cardiff. Good price £58! for a double room including breakfast. Parking costs £10 a day extra. Wifi is also extra so you are better off using 3G

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeffroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing us to stay with during your recent visit to Cardiff.

I am glad you had an enjoyable time with us and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    484
    278
    71
    35
See reviews for
177
371
64
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location is excellent for visiting Cardiff. Well located for the city centre, and only a river bus ride away from Hoddinott Hall (and the rest of the docks regeneration). My room scored ok on the feature count; aircon, safe, iron & ironing board, but no free wifi. Also there were only a few TV channels (and no radio 6!)

The two things that let it down were, the "double" bed was more like a 1 3/4 bed, and the bath was just a bit too narrow to stand safety in when taking a shower. The room was also a bit on the small size, but I've stayed in smaller rooms elsewhere.

On the whole, location A1, the rest C+.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfium-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear wolfium-x,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate you highlighting not only the bad, but also the good aspects of your experience. We are pleased that you like the convenient location of our hotel to the city centre. It is unfortunate that some room amenities and the size of the bed and bathroom were not to your liking. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

We look forward to hosting you again when in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here midweek for one night. Our room had a decent view over Cardiff Arms Park and the river.
The room was of a reasonably decent standard but nothing special. We did not do breakfast but had lunch which was good sandwiches and chips - it was just a shame that we were never given knifes or forks or a serviette and we were unable to find waitress or member of the bar staff to help. I would rate this as just average as there are definately better places for similar prices in Cardiff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank xlesleydx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing us to stay with.

I am sorry for the lapse in our normally high standards regarding the service with your lunch, however I am most grateful for your feedback.

I do hope it will not deter you from staying with us again, as you will see from many of our reviews the team are very genuine and caring, who deliver great service. I hope that we have an opportunity to demonstrate this to yourselves.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stay here quite regularly for work and pleasure - it's well located and generally reliable even if some of the rooms are a little tired now. I was unlucky on this Saturday night. All in all, a slightly surreal experience. I was given the key to 'my' room, only to find on opening the door that a couple were already resident. A bit of a shock for all three of us! I got moved to another room, one where the TV didn't work. Friendly reception staff were apologetic, got things fixed, and gave me some loyalty points by way of compensation. The next day I asked for coffee at breakfast. It arrived, swiftly followed (without explanation) by a pot of tea. It was that sort of stay, although the breakfast was superb as usual.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel overlooking Cardiff Arms Park but try to get one away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am sorry that we let you down with some shortfalls on this occasion.

If you would be kind enough to drop me a line it would be most helpful in ensuring the issues you faced can be addressed.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
richard.platts@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here. All the staff were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The 5th floor room was quiet if a little warn in places but clean with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was hot and appetising, the pancake machine was fun and a yummy treat. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It is so nice to hear that the team make such a lasting impression.

I am glad you had a great stay with us, I hope you will soon return for more of those lovely pancakes!!

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Spent a couple of nights here this week with my Mum. Great location, enjoyed being able to park the car when we arrived and not have to drive it again until we left. We asked for a quiet room and had one at the back of the hotel, 4th floor, overlooking the stadium. Might be a bit noisy on a match night, but was great when we were there! Would thoroughly recommend it to anybody wanting a central location with car park.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - back of hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It is nice to hear that you and your mother had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am glad you found everything to your liking and hope we can welcome you both back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

From the fast and friendly check in, through the very comfy (if a bit used and showing it) room - the bed was fantastic though and excellent service when requesting different pillow types. This was one of the best stays at a chain hotel that I have had.

The breakfast is the best I have had from a self serve buffet style setup. Quality items (you can tell by the sausages! They weren't cheap and nasty.) and all kept piping hot unlike others I have had (including The Grand at Brighton!).

Bar prices are also not inflated, something that makes you want to use the bar rather than go elsewhere.

If I had to give any negatives, then the bathroom in the room was very small. Plus as someone not staying on business having a knock on the door at 8:25 from the cleaners wanting to get in was not welcome....

Otherwise excellent, especially with the view of the river and stadiums from our room!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am glad you had a great stay.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing