We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How exemplary can return your faith in human nauture..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“How exemplary can return your faith in human nauture..”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We came for what we hoped was a weekend relaxing visit to a City we've never been to before that turned out to be anything but courtesy of both an inconsiderate inebriated Scotsman banging on the door at 00:30 trying to get in the wrong room followed by some inconsiderate neighbours in the next room who decided it was fun to stay up all night banging the door every 30mins until gone 5:30am. As a result we all had no sleep whatsoever. Hotel reception were superb and their customer service in dealing with it was exemplary and better than I've seen before, and I stop upto 80 nights a year in IHG hotels and have done for more than 10 years ! We never blamed the hotel but whilst we still left tired our faith in people had certainly been uplifted, so thankyou to the lady receptionist who resolved the issue for us, we were very grateful for what you did. We hope to come back again soon and continue our visit to Cardiff

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am sorry that some other inconsiderate guests spoilt your stay.

I was pleased to note however how the team looked after you, and that you intend to return.

Please when planning your next stay with us do contact me personally so I may make the arrangements on your behalf.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
richard.platts@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    495
    286
    73
    36
See reviews for
181
383
64
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Check in was as always easy peasy quick and straight forward just how it should be. The room was spick and span providing you did not look at the dust at the back of the television. This is the first time we have had fruit left waiting for us which was a nice touch. Nothing much to had be see you next year.

Room Tip: we like room 426
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulus1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for keeping your promise....

It was a pleasure to look after you again and I do hope we have the opportunity to do so in the future.

Thank you for your review and continued custom.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

took friends for a birthday treat so had plans for the evening but the staff were just excellent. Well mannered, great service and very helpful. they were extremely busy but always had time for you, just let down a little by breakfast being a little sparse due to massive numbers in and out. But overall would highly recommend a stay

Room Tip: Great for the centre as just near the castle and a short walk to the main shops, executive rooms exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for such a lovely review.

I am most pleased that you found the team a highlight of your stay.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for business. Location is fairly central - it's right by The Millennium Stadium and only 5 mins walk from city centre. Parking is available but you need to ask where it is. The hotel looks scruffy from the outside and this reflects the overall standard of the room which was tired and in need of some upgrading. The internet access was dreadful, despite being assured that it was a fast speed - it was only after I complained that the speed improved. Overall this Holiday Inn is not at the same level of quality of others I have stayed in - would be reluctant to stay here again.
I really did not like the huge windows which overlooked other rooms in the hotel - I was bemused to observe a lady in an adjacent room stripping off - obviously oblivious to the fact that she was on full view to adjacent windows and anyone looking out - They need to have net curtains!
It was very busy and noisy when I stayed - mainly coach parties of ladies of a certain age. The restaurant was busy, the staff were polite and friendly but the service was slow because there wasn't enough of them to keep up with the numbers of diners; so if you wanted a quick breakfast - out of luck!

Room Tip: Be aware that the big picture windows are not obscured!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am sorry that we did not meet all your expectations.

I have taken careful note of all your comments and shall be making changes where appropriate, your constructive feedback is most helpful.

In relation to the rooms, we are currently working through a refurbishment programme on our bedroom stock, so I anticipate that the observations you have made will be dealt with presently.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for a night. The rooms were £149 for a double, the room was basic and bland and no different from the express hotels but yet twice the price. We had a view of the back of the stadium. The breakfast was not included so if you want it it's an extra £8.50 per person (this was half price). We also paid £10.00 parking and a further £16.00 for 2 drinks on room service so if you include all of this it's the better part of £200 for a night here. The maid knocked on the door at 8.30 am and woke us. The only positive for this hotel is the location as it is right opposite the castle, Bute park with a river taxi to the bay and round the corner from the city centre shops, bar and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room at front to get views of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N6600JVSarah_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review , and for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Cardiff.

I am sorry that your stay was not to your expectations, and that you felt value for money was lacking.

Your comments are important feedback for us for future reference and I have taken them fully on board.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Spent four days here attending an AGM at St. David's Hall. The staff are excellent - every one of them was always smiling, polite and very helpful. The room was clean, big enough for two ladies sharing, and even had an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. The shower was one of the best I have experienced in any hotel and the towels lovely and fluffy and importantly, BIG enough to enable one to get dry! My friend needed extra pillows and they were delivered within minutes of her requesting them. I managed to disrupt the electronic safe and a lovely young man (AG) came and re-programmed it again for us. He also attended to our party in the dining room and found out from the chef which items on the menu were gluten-free for me. My only criticism and it is a small one, is that the choice of gluten-free food was very limited. For dessert I had the choice of sorbet or fruit salad every night - the berry sorbet was delicious but the lemon sorbet was incredibly sour. The fruit salad was mostly large chunks of apple, with small bits of melon (left over from the breakfast buffet I suspect) so by the fourth evening I decided not to bother with dessert! The other members of our party were able to enjoy delicious cheesecakes and gateaux and I did feel rather like a poor relation just because I have Coeliac disease. Many restaurants now have a choice of gluten free meals but the Holiday Inn chain seem to be a bit lax in this direction. Overall, however, the hotel facilities and the staff make this an ideal place to stay when visiting Cardiff. Across the road you can get a water taxi down the river to Cardiff Bay. Bute park is lovely and the castle magnificent. Also it's a short walk to the shops, market and the lovely civic buildings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csarahv1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for you review and I am glad you had a great stay with us.

I have made careful note of your comment regarding gluten free desserts, and we shall certainly look in to this.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for weekend away. Assessable from Bus train Station just 10 mins walk. We walked next to the river at side of Millennium Stadium. Scenic!!
Booked in small room though lovely and quiet we were on the third floor with view of Millennium Stadium and the River Taff. Lovely comfy double bed, with a choice of pillows. Tea/coffee facilities flat screen tv. Ironing board iron. Hair dryer. Plenty of electric sockets. Nice towels bath/ shower over it. We had breakfast included in price buffet style fry up, fruit, pancakes, cheeses, cold meats, cereals. Earplugs offered if needed we didn;t in our room. Opposite Cardiff castle and Bude park. Ideal we took the water bus to Cardiff bay £3 each.
5 minute walk to shops and the large array of bars/restaurants. Great weekend

Room Tip: We were in room 319 very quiet plus non smoking. EAST SIDE
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swivena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am so pleased you had such a lovely time staying with us.

It sounds like our fabulous breakfast was a big hit, and I do hope it is not too long before you are back and sampling it once more.

As an aside the room you were in was indeed a non smoking as are all of our rooms.

Thank you for your time in writing the review.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,080 reviews
1.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing