We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, excellent Hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Tewkesbury, Glos UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, excellent Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

Having read some of the more negative reviews we visited Cardiff expecting a few problems. We were pleasantly surprised- the Hotel was lovely! The staff were helpful when we arrived, with a plate of still warm welsh cakes at reception to greet us. Delicious! The family room was spacious and overlooked the river. It was clean and had everything we needed. It was also quiet so sleep was not a problem. The bathroom was a good size. If we needed extra anything the Hotel happily supplied - eg extra milks, a toothbrush, newspaper etc.
The breakfast was first class too with everything you might want available and well prepared and cooked. We also had room service food and ate in the bar too. The food was excellent although it is all a bit more expensive via room service, and there is a surcharge too.
Having gone by train, parking was not an issue. It is so easy to walk the 5 min walk to the main shopping area and the Castle is just across the road. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional, and I hope this review will redress the balance! Thank you Holiday Inn!!! I have already recommended this Hotel to a friend who is booking now.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YourfriendWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    466
    271
    68
    34
See reviews for
167
362
63
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

Just come back from a short stay in Cardiff. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was really good. Looks quite chic for the price and the room was excellent overlooking the river which for a city centre location was brilliant. Central location and a really nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jivebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Stayed in January for a weekend away after Christmas, bit of shopping, sight seeing and dinner and a few drinks. Great value break at this hotel, rooms were nice and staff and service were great, excellent breakfast each morning. Central location, easy to find with parking on site. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midlandsmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

Fly into Cardiff airport from holiday and wanted a day's shopping in Cardiff on the way home. Stayed at teh Holiday Inn and had a great time. Got their early in the morning on the Saturday and the room was made aviable very quickly even before check in time. The manage on duty told us the best places to go shopping and went to the new John Lewis store which was excellent. Came back late afternoon to the hotel where the kids were treated like royals, it was like the team wanted to really make the stay special, and it really was. To the point that my oldest son cried when we left the next day. The staff were really helpful and could not do more to make our shopping stay more relaxing fun. A great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snsjrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

Stayed at hotel for 1 night, read some of the other reviews and was unsure on what to expect. From checking in with reception to eating in the bar I found all the staff very friendly. Food was great and room was nice and clean. Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sedy-wedgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

the customer service is really bad there!
my family and i are asthmatic so we choice to have a non smoking room but our pillows were from a smoking place so when we asked to change them, the receptionist just said that she did not think so!?
amazing... housekeepers invite themselves in the room without asking! and they actually need to change their room's carpet which is filthy!
nice river views though!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyndas00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

spent a night here 05/12/09, the location is great for shopping. Superb for the stadium, its practically next door. It's also across the road from Cardiff Castle. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast brilliant. Everything you could want to eat at breakfast was available. I would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerbabe0346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing