We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim Grim Grim: stay somewhere - anywhere - else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 4 May 2010

My partner was attacked in the bar at this hotel by someone who was drinking a lot... their response was to ask them both to calm down - even though it was an unprovoked attack - and carry on serving the attacker alcohol afterwards. A totally random attack, even though it was raised with management and bar staff saw it happen they did nothing (and this was in the hotel itself - not in the callaghans pub on the ground floor of the building).

That aside - the hotel is tired, the staff are disinterested and the bar prices incredibly high for Cardiff. Do not stay here, all they care about is getting your money and it shows in how they treat you

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keegoCardiff, Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2010

Thank you for your comments.

I have reviewed all available evidence from this incident as we treat guest security as paramount. We shall learn and act, as necessary, from this very rare and isolated incident.

It is such a pity that a great and joyous wedding reception was marred by this one incident in the early morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2010

Second time in Cardiff in a year. We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn because of the good rate available on their website (Saturday £59 and Sunday £53 Room Only).

We arrived at 3pm and parked in the hotel car park which is a small car park adjacent to the Cardiff Blues (rugby union) ground. There is a daily charge of £10 to park there. We were speedily checked in and allocated Room 228. This was a Junior Suite (which is a euphemism for a cupboard masquerading as a bedroom!). However, the size of the room did not matter as the hotel is perfect for exploring the city.

The view from this room is of the Castle and the River. If there wasn't a 'service balcony' the room would overlook Castle Street (the balcony is not accessible from the room or vice versa as the windows do not open far enough).

Behind the hotel is the Cardiff Blues stadium which itself is next to the Millennium Stadium so the hotel is perfect if you are staying over after watching a game. A 10 minute walk will take you to the new John Lewis store and a 35 minute walk (via the Taff Embankment which is accessed by turning left out of the hotel entrance) will get you to the Bay.

Service was excellent. The staff should be commended on this. We would definitely recommend this hotel to other people wishing to stay. Check the rates on the HI website as there are some bargains to be had.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

12 of us ended up staying at the Holiday Inn for a weekend Stag Do (6 twin rooms) after we could not get our flights over to Budapest (thanks Iceland!!!)

We were met by friendly and very accomodating staff who sorted our our rooms very efficiently.

Rooms were very clean, and ideal for a city break. Our room had a view of the Millenium Stadium, the other side of the hotel had a view of the park.

The breakfasts were very good, continental or self-service full English.

The location of the hotel is ideal. Everything is with in walking distance.

I would definately reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oli_M_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn in Cardiff and I have to say, it wasn't one of the better Holiday Inns. Situated in a perfect location, close to shops, overlooking the river and the Millenium Stadium, I feel they have taken advantage of these positives in order to skimp a little on the things expected of what they call a 'full service' hotel.

The room was pretty small but the bed was huge - just a pity the bed linen didn't fit! A superkingsize bed with a double size duvet which just sat on top of the bed with absolutely no overhang. The bathroom was tiny and getting out of the bath/shower quite an effort without knocking a leg on the lavatory.

There was no minibar or fridge in the room nor a full length mirror. Other things normally found in a Holiday Inn which were missing in this one was a selection of teas and a complimentary pack of biscuits or two.

Whilst the room was generally very clean, the net curtains in the room were either filthy or very old, being a sort of battleship grey in colour.

We ate dinner at the hotel and the food was pretty good, the house wine very nice and the service excellent. No complaints on that score. However, breakfast wasn't so good having a poor selection of pastries and the hot food was sort of warmish with undercooked eggs.

On the whole we were quite disappointed with this Holiday Inn, especially as it was our wedding anniversary and were hoping for something a little more special. We're Priority Club members and have stayed in a good few Holiday Inns and Intercontinentals - this was definetely the worst. Back to the Hilton next time we visit Cardiff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Having read some of the more negative reviews we visited Cardiff expecting a few problems. We were pleasantly surprised- the Hotel was lovely! The staff were helpful when we arrived, with a plate of still warm welsh cakes at reception to greet us. Delicious! The family room was spacious and overlooked the river. It was clean and had everything we needed. It was also quiet so sleep was not a problem. The bathroom was a good size. If we needed extra anything the Hotel happily supplied - eg extra milks, a toothbrush, newspaper etc.
The breakfast was first class too with everything you might want available and well prepared and cooked. We also had room service food and ate in the bar too. The food was excellent although it is all a bit more expensive via room service, and there is a surcharge too.
Having gone by train, parking was not an issue. It is so easy to walk the 5 min walk to the main shopping area and the Castle is just across the road. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional, and I hope this review will redress the balance! Thank you Holiday Inn!!! I have already recommended this Hotel to a friend who is booking now.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YourfriendWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Just come back from a short stay in Cardiff. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was really good. Looks quite chic for the price and the room was excellent overlooking the river which for a city centre location was brilliant. Central location and a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jivebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Stayed in January for a weekend away after Christmas, bit of shopping, sight seeing and dinner and a few drinks. Great value break at this hotel, rooms were nice and staff and service were great, excellent breakfast each morning. Central location, easy to find with parking on site. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midlandsmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £55 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing