We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Pwllheli, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

When I last stayed in this Travelodge two years ago, it was, although clean and serviceable, a bit tired, However, I decided to go there again as it was a stone's throw away from where our function was held. I was very pleasantly surprised to see the rooms had been refurbished to a good standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank NWG104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    164
    114
    65
    86
See reviews for
112
184
38
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elsewhere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great location and comfortable rooms. Stank of glue and paint due to refurb though. Comfortable and full of piping hot water. Good value. This one is the choice for party goers and ravers! It's close to the stadium and on a street full of pubs and clubs. Highly recommended for the young, the drunk and the late nighters. You can fall out of it and into a train in seconds! For families and sightseers, I'd recommend Queen St. It's on top of the castle, shopping and historic sights of Cardiff. Saying that, don't worry too much either way, as Cardiff centre's pretty small... Beautiful city. Brilliant people. Have fun!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank mthwrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I `ve been to Cardiff many times and on this occasion it was for a birthday trip so I knew this Travelodge was where we had to stay.Its a few minutes walk from the train station and right in the centre where you want to be if your having a weekend night out in Cardiff.Yes it is abit rowdy as you will see from the other reviews but this place really should only be recommended to groups,stags and hens on a weekend.Its on the main street in Cardiff for the pubs and clubs.Its actual quite hard to get in here because its so popular and known to be the place most central.The rooms are your basic Travelodge rooms which if its just somewhere to get ready and sleep are fine.If you want to arrive and check in early you will have to pay a early check in fee,i wouldn't worry about booking the breakfast as there are plenty of places to eat around this hotel.

Room Tip: You will need a room out the back and not facing over the main road for a decent nights sleep on a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villajase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a great time, everything good, great price, great location meant we had a great fun. I would say the new look travel lodge is very good. and happy to say the one in Mary St, Cardiff is awesome.


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank English-Academic-Sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was a pleasant Travelodge to stay in. There was a group of 6 of us who had booked two rooms for a New year night out. The rooms were clean when we entered and we could change the temperature if needed.
I wouldn't necessarily recommend for families especially staying on the street side of the hotel as there is a walkabout directly underneath the Travelodge which could cause a disturbance.
All in all a great value for money place to stay in Cardiff city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Beth_A106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Central
Address: Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing