We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy but so noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfy but so noisy”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night for a hen weekend. Great location with a comfy bed, but so, so noisy! I suppose it's not really the fault of travelodge but there is a noisy bar directly underneath and I could not really sleep because of the outside noise.
Staff were all happy and helpful, and the room itself was great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    168
    117
    72
    88
See reviews for
113
191
39
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

if you are not on a Stag do or a Hen Night avoid this hotel at all costs. with a disco on the ground floor playing till 3.30 am the chance of sleep is remote and then all the youngsters returning to their rooms shouting good night its not a place for the faint hearted. and defo note for pensioners.. . and the staff telling you you should have booked in at an other hotel is no comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank thomo189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hotel entrance handy for station etc. Lift very grubby and same applied to carpets in public areas and room. Ours was noisy from machinery (heating/boilers?). Considering city location external noise from pubs etc was minimal and extremely convenient for public transport

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed in this travel lodge many times, however since last staying in June 2013 it has been redecorated, lovely comfortable king size beds, new curtains and carpets, smelt clean and fresh from the moment you walked in. Friendly staff from the second you arrive with quick check in. Stayed her for show at motorpoint arena perfect location not even 5 mins walk to there or shops. Carpark just around the corner and wetherspoons next door. Couldnt ask for more will continue to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Visit cardiff quiet often for work. Thought of giving it a try especially because of the deal.
The room though clean are very very basic and compact. I know i should have expected that for the price paid but next time would spend a bit more and upgrade for a better hotel.
I guess can be good for people on budget just not for me.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gerag87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you want a hotel with easy access to everything in Cardiff This is for you
Millenium Stadium 400 yards
St Davids Shopping Centre 400 yards
CIA Moterpoint Arena 400 yards
Cardiff Castle 300 yards
Railway and Bus Station 100 yards
Cardiff City Stadium and Sophia Gardens Cricket 1 mile

Entrance is off the main thoroughfare - I went on Sunday Night so there was little noise. What it is like on a Friday / Saturday Night I dont know because there are several large late night pubs next to the hotel.

Booking in was easy and quick - on way to the room, however, I had to pass trolleys of dirty bed linen and cleaners being shouted at by the supervisor. The carpets in the corridor either need a deep clean or replacing.
Room was the usual Travelodge fare - clean - tidy and frugal. TV Remote was missing but was replaced in 5 minutes by reception.
As said earlier, despite it closeness to the railway station it was really quiet and I had a good nights sleep.
With a bit of a tidy up this could be a really good hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinDCwmbran_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed here and you can definitely see that they have made improvements in all areas. The room was a very clean, with a comfortable bed. The staff were great. A* gr

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Central
Address: Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing