We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Travelodge is a great hotel chain, offering affordable accommodation to all. I will use them regularly for the rest of my life. Couldn't get hold of an iron but that was only as they were in use :( My friend works for them and so i decided that i would stay with them, certainly don't regret it. Will probably stay again later as I've got some bits and bobs to do and would rather not make the late drive home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank YOLO1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We've been in this Travelodge last week for o short visit in Cardiff. We've found a dirty room, hair everywhere, in the bed and in the bathroom, with the duvet not changed and terrible smell inside. My husband asked to change the room and the receptionist did not even apologized. We've changed the room and in the second we've found some dirty towels.... Awful experience!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Madalina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are truly sorry to learn of your poor experience Madalina B. Our housekeeping team follow a specific routine when cleaning a room and we do expect all of our rooms to be clean and fresh so it is regrettable to learn you found your room was unclean with an unpleasant smell on this occasion. Our reception staff are also expected to provide a great service to our customers and resolve all issues in a timely manner. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here on a Monday night after working a 12 hour shift and required to be back at work in 12 hours time.
All night we had young people who had been drinking running up and down the passage way outside our room shouting to each other.
This was a shame as the hotel is very good being right in the city centre although the bathroom could have done with a makeover.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are sorry to learn you were disturbed by other guests at the hotel SwindonNigel. We do ask all of our customers to be mindful of their noise levels when around the hotel and we do require our staff to regular patrol the hotel so that they can be aware of any disturbances. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked this last minute. I have stayed in travel lodges before and not been very impressed. But, this one was very pleasant. We were on the top floor the room was nicely decorated well stocked and clean. (much nicer than others we have stayed in). We used the self service check in so did not speak to staff. I would of rated our stay much higher if it was not for the air conditioning which came on sometime after midnight. It started off extremely loud and then settled to just loud. There were three of us staying here and all of us were woken by it and had a bad nights sleep which was a shame. The location is excellent - being not far from the station and shops. I would recommend it by maybe not the top floor.

Room Tip: not top floor - due to noice from air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xlesleydx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night for a hen weekend. Great location with a comfy bed, but so, so noisy! I suppose it's not really the fault of travelodge but there is a noisy bar directly underneath and I could not really sleep because of the outside noise.
Staff were all happy and helpful, and the room itself was great.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank RonnieandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

if you are not on a Stag do or a Hen Night avoid this hotel at all costs. with a disco on the ground floor playing till 3.30 am the chance of sleep is remote and then all the youngsters returning to their rooms shouting good night its not a place for the faint hearted. and defo note for pensioners.. . and the staff telling you you should have booked in at an other hotel is no comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank thomo189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hotel entrance handy for station etc. Lift very grubby and same applied to carpets in public areas and room. Ours was noisy from machinery (heating/boilers?). Considering city location external noise from pubs etc was minimal and extremely convenient for public transport

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Address: Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £29 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing