We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Cardiff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
rhyl
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First time to Cardiff!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

travelled down for a course with a colleague, let's be positive the bed is very comfortable!However as most people like some sleep it will be difficult in this place... we were booked for two nights, the first night I was kept awake by a disco somewhere till 3.20 am and so was my colleague. The second night we were excited as no disco noise!! but wait for it we were both kept awake by drunken people having races in the corridor again at 3 .20 am... They then decided to sit on the floor outside my colleagues room and have a party ! Unbelievable neither of us had any sleep.
We did tell the receptionist the next morning , who said my colleague would be refunded, which as it's corporate doesn't do anything for her or me I never slept either....we were glad to go home for some sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We hope all our guests have a comfortable stay with us benandrosie, so we are very sorry to learn of the level of noise you experienced in your room. Whilst we do try and make our customers aware of outside noise by detailing this on our website, unfortunately it is also not always possible to fully reduce the noise that our guests might experience from outside however we make every effort to minimise the noise that might be heard from outside the hotel by insulating the walls and providing double glazed windows. We require a night staff member to patrol the hotel at night to ensure that a respectable level of noise from our other guests is maintained. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    168
    117
    70
    88
See reviews for
113
191
39
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at this Travelodge after the Gary Barlow concert. We booked this hotel as it was only £25 per night. After booking we looked at the reviews and thought "Oh no, we have made a big mistake". However, we had made no mistake at all. Yes, it was noisy if you had a room overlooking the street but we pre-requested a quiet room on the third floor at the back and although we could hear some music it was generally very quiet. It was the seagulls in the early morning that were noisy!

Following staying at a rather sub-standard Travelodge the week before, this one was like a 5 star hotel. It was a lovely big room with a lovely comfy bed and a bath in the bathroom rather than just a shower. There was a lovely vanity unit with big mirror and a nice chair. There was not much of a view from the window but we were only there one night.

The hotel is situated right in the middle of the vibrant Cardiff night life popular with students, it is right next door to a Wetherspoons (hence no Bar Cafe in the hotel) and about 5 minutes walk from the station. It is a very noisy area but if you pre-request a quiet room at the back, this is not much of a problem. I am a person who loves peace and quiet and had no issue with it at all.

As with all Travelodges, the hotel room is very basic with little in the way of tea/coffee/milk but you can request more at reception. You only get a tiny piece of soap which does not lather at all. It would be nice to have a hairdryer and a shower gel dispenser in the shower/bath area. The lovely comfy bed makes up for this minor inconvenience.

I would recommend this hotel for a trip to the Cardiff nightlife/Motorpoint Arena/Millenium Stadium.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank cookie546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Travelodge is a great hotel chain, offering affordable accommodation to all. I will use them regularly for the rest of my life. Couldn't get hold of an iron but that was only as they were in use :( My friend works for them and so i decided that i would stay with them, certainly don't regret it. Will probably stay again later as I've got some bits and bobs to do and would rather not make the late drive home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank YOLO1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We've been in this Travelodge last week for o short visit in Cardiff. We've found a dirty room, hair everywhere, in the bed and in the bathroom, with the duvet not changed and terrible smell inside. My husband asked to change the room and the receptionist did not even apologized. We've changed the room and in the second we've found some dirty towels.... Awful experience!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madalina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are truly sorry to learn of your poor experience Madalina B. Our housekeeping team follow a specific routine when cleaning a room and we do expect all of our rooms to be clean and fresh so it is regrettable to learn you found your room was unclean with an unpleasant smell on this occasion. Our reception staff are also expected to provide a great service to our customers and resolve all issues in a timely manner. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Swindon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here on a Monday night after working a 12 hour shift and required to be back at work in 12 hours time.
All night we had young people who had been drinking running up and down the passage way outside our room shouting to each other.
This was a shame as the hotel is very good being right in the city centre although the bathroom could have done with a makeover.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are sorry to learn you were disturbed by other guests at the hotel SwindonNigel. We do ask all of our customers to be mindful of their noise levels when around the hotel and we do require our staff to regular patrol the hotel so that they can be aware of any disturbances. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked this last minute. I have stayed in travel lodges before and not been very impressed. But, this one was very pleasant. We were on the top floor the room was nicely decorated well stocked and clean. (much nicer than others we have stayed in). We used the self service check in so did not speak to staff. I would of rated our stay much higher if it was not for the air conditioning which came on sometime after midnight. It started off extremely loud and then settled to just loud. There were three of us staying here and all of us were woken by it and had a bad nights sleep which was a shame. The location is excellent - being not far from the station and shops. I would recommend it by maybe not the top floor.

Room Tip: not top floor - due to noice from air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xlesleydx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night for a hen weekend. Great location with a comfy bed, but so, so noisy! I suppose it's not really the fault of travelodge but there is a noisy bar directly underneath and I could not really sleep because of the outside noise.
Staff were all happy and helpful, and the room itself was great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 73 in Cardiff
1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Central
Address: Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing