We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bog standard Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Ranked #52 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a run of the mill Travelodge. Same old same old.
Great location within 2 minutes of the station and well sited for the shops/bars in Cardiff.
Staff were excellent and extremely helpful.
Bit pricey but that’s the going rate for city centre places.
I booked the early check in which went smoothly and asked for a quiet room at the back and was put in 308 which was excellent.

Room Tip: 308 is the top floor and is at the back so is quiet. Some of the rooms at the front can suffer from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djb0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a very central location with the rooms above some busy bars and clubs so if you're in Cardiff for a night out, it's perfect. However do not stay if you want to get some sleep, the noise is loud and relentless.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank KimberleyT_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I booked the family room for me, hubby and daughter for graduation day. I paid a bit extra so we could check in at 12 noon. I would have rated this travelodge 5 stars but the room was very hot. There was a fan in the room and we had to ask for another one from reception. King size bed was so comfy but the two fold out beds were really hard. We were worried about noise as we were in town near lots of pubs but it wasnt that bad really. Might be worse at the weekend though. Room was nice and clean and had been refurbished so we were impressed overall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Feltig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was in Cardiff for a friends night out so didn't arrive here till really late and left early the next day. Rooms are bog standard Travelodge style. You could tell it was used by people for drunken nights out as there was food stains up the some of the walls. If you are looking for just a place to lay your drunken head then this is cheap as chips and does the job. Also quite a bit of noise from outside at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

stayed here for one night ,it is not for people who need a good nights sleep .Loud music from pub opposite till early hours of the morning .Room was clean and tidy,staff were very polite .hotel was in middle of refurbishment .very handy for train station .parking was expensive £18 for overnight ,if we went Cardiff again would stay out of town centre

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I would have gave an Excellent, I stayed in a disable room with Bath/Shower, I had a job to have shower the bath was to high to climb into to have a shower. very very bad for a disable room.Cardiff is a city well worth a look round with lots of eating and drinking place's


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Sringdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Perfectly good staff in reception - no problems. Got to room - far too hot. Seemed to be a small heater type thing. Put it on cold setting but didn't do anything. No phone in room to ring reception either. So had to open window. Only opened a small amount but was very noisy until about 3am despite being a Wednesday night. Had to flush toilet several times as well in order for it to work properly. Not very impressed! Good for location as very near to station and castle and was adequate for the purposes of my trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of building noisy. Not sure about others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superwoodwinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Address: Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £42 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing