We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Last minute trip so accommodation was limited so chose this hotel. Staff pleasant, our family room was a good size and clean but it was obvious there was improvements going on. Room far to hot with just 1 small fan. What was disappointing was there wasn't a facility to leave our luggage after checking out which other hotels offer, this resulted with us paying an extra £10 to have a late check out and cutting our final days plan short

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in a few travelodges and premier inns over time. This one is good in the aspect of location as it is about five minutes from everything. Train station, arena, city centre which is excellent. The room was clean with a comfortable bed. What let it down though was the fact it was sooo hot. The corridors was like saunas and the room itself like an oven. The windows are safety harnessed to prevent you from jumping out so therefore no air gets in and you are provided with a little fan which just moves the warm air around. Also it doesn't have its own parking so you have to use the NCP around the back (20%off is given at reception) which is still expensive. As I said not the worst but could be better.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wozstein88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

When arriving to the hotel we got checked in by a manger (Gareth) who seemed friendly. The 1st room we had we had to move as the flush wasn't working, plus there was crumbs on the carpet and plastic bits in the bath. We room moved and the second room was clean and well maintained. The receptionist (a male doing 3-11) was friendly every time we walked through would say hello. This hotel is great for a night out!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Georgie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The rooms were clean and comfortable with a cot set up for a third person. No air con, but the fan was sufficient. Only complaint was when we did the early check-in. As this was out first time at a travelodge We didn't realize early check-in is £10 per person. That in itself is fine, but the receptionist didn't make it clear at all. Plus when we were considering if we wanted to check in early we were discussing how £10 split three ways was worth it... surely the receptionist should have corrected us and told us it was per person. I didn't realize it until I checked my receipt later on.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vividphenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed for one night with husband and my young son. We arrived late at night having travelled from the north of England.
We used the self check in system which was quick and easy. The staff were welcoming on our arrival. However, when we got to our room it was poorly maintained. The bedding appeared to be clean, but it had not been hoovered properly and there was thick dust around the furniture.
The spoons with the tea & coffee making facilities were rusty and didn't look clean.
The bathroom floor did not look clean and the bathroom worktop was chipped/marked and scratched. The shower curtain and the inside of the bath was stained and there was the remains of what looked like 'silly string' or party poppers on the bathroom door & wall. So I guess the previous occupant had been celebrating something!
Someone else was clearly partying in the building that evening as there was a strong smell of cannabis coming through the bathroom air vent. Which we reported to the evening staff who suggested it may be a 'damp' smell from the vents being repaired recently. It was definitely cannabis. As most people know it has a distinctive smell, so you can't really mistake it.
We couldn't get another hotel that late at night as they were all fully booked, but we checked out first thing in the morning and didnt even use the shower there. We checked into another hotel early and used their facilities that morning.
The only consolation was that we were informed that will not have to pay for the second night (that we did not stay for) as we checked out early and we were offered a reduced rate on the one night we stayed there.
I think if you're going to Cardiff for a night out with friends & just want somewhere to crash it's perfect because the room rates are cheap and it's in a fantastic loaction right in the centre. If you're a family (like us) I would not recommend staying here. I would consider paying a little extra and getting a more well kept and family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R-Sfamily321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel has no air con which made my room unbearable to sleep in. There was a fan in the room however this did little to compensate for the heat. The single beds were too hard, will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank bellatalbert76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Cleanliness was key to this stay, the the bathroom and bedding were spotless. The room was a good size, the bed was very comfortable, the staff were friendly, didn't hear any external noise, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank cwahtley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Address: Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £29 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing