We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well kept secret.... Fantastic food”
Review of Praya Thai

Praya Thai
Get food delivered
Ranked #301 of 1,367 Restaurants in Cardiff
Description: Thai restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Thai restaurant
Reviewed 7 May 2024 via mobile

I caught up with 6 old work friends for our monthly lunch today. We settled on Praya Thai in Churchill Way for lunch. We've been meeting for lunch for about 10 years so have tried very many restaurants in Cardiff, Praya Thai has to be one of the best.

The menu can look overwhelming because there is so much choice, but the friendly staff soon step in if required.

The food was awesome, good portions that tasted exquisite, very fresh and aromatic. We will go again.

I Highly recommend the food. The only downside was the loos were having work done, but I'm sure that's a temporary thing

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Fatangnywomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josh C, Other at Praya Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to see you again. 😃

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2024

Amazing food. Best Thai food we have tasted since our last trip to Thailand. Yum Talay salad with calamari , mussels & prawns was superb. Tom Yum soup was super spicy. Massaman Geh cooked to perfection & lamb just fell off the bone. Waitress was attentive, friendly & helpful. We WILL definitely go back soon as we all agreed we had an amazing meal 10/10

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josh C, Other at Praya Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to see you again. 😃

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024

Pretty slow service in dismal surroundings. we ordered the sweet corn fritters; they tasted like they need to change the oil in the fryer. I ordered the tofu pad thai which I found to be inedible. It had a very strange unpleasant flavour which I was unable to identify. we will never come back

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josh C, Other at Praya Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

It's unfortunate that you did not enjoy your time at the restaurant, it's also a shame that you did not bring any of your issues to the attention of the staff. Thankfully your views are not shared by the majority of our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024

decor a bit dated but this place is all about the food, which was fantastic. super tasty authentic Thai food, great service and good value for money. Will definitely return and can highly recommend

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josh C, Other at Praya Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to see you again. 😃

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Came in for a meal on a Saturday night, was able to book easily enough the day before. Food was delicious, though some things were much hotter than you might have thought from the menu description. Would definitely go again.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tonyj380
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josh C, Other at Praya Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to see you again. 😃

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Praya Thai also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Praya Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.