We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated for visiting city centre Cardiff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Preste Gaarden

Preste Gaarden
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Preste Gaarden
Ranked #50 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Lancashire
1 review
“Well situated for visiting city centre Cardiff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

Friendly welcome. Comfortable room with tea, coffee, biscuits supplied. En-suite rather cramped but adequate. Good cooked breakfast with offer of extra toast, tea & coffee. 20 minute walk to city centre or frequent bus service with bus stops close to hotel (£1.50 each way or £3 for an all day ticket for use within whole Cardiff area & you need to have the correct money).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireBlueskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
11
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

It is hard to believe that this establishment has been awarded 3 diamonds - in all my years of travelling I have never ever stayed in such a rundown establishment. The bedrooms / bathrooms / shower rooms are all in need of repair / decoration - indeed the bedding, with the excception of the sheets, need attention as well as curtains which fail to have sufficient number of hooks. Certainly does not give the right impression for overseas visitors visiting Wales for the first time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmerson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Wheelers Hill, Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

We really enjoyed our stay in this B & B. It was very comfortable and clean although the ensuite was a bit on the small side. The room itself was spacious with a table and a couple of chairs. Our room was located at the back of the building and had a small balcony with chairs so that if you had some fair weather you could sit out and look over the backyard. Unfortunately the weather was quite wet during our 2 nights there so we couldn't take advantage of this. Parking is on the street and you need to be alert to the restrictions. Cardiff Castle is about a 20 minute walk away but you can cut through the Botanic Gardens and walk along the river which is very pleasant. It is also a short walk to a small supermarket/post office, laundromat and restaurants. We had dinner one night at the Cameo Club. It's not a cheap restaurant, although they seem to have deals on some days, it was one of the best meals of our holiday.

We found it a good, quiet location and recommend it. Just remember to pack your umbrella!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

Our family of 5 stayed one night at Preste Gaarden. The en-suite room was clean, bright, and very large, accomodating all of us with an additional cot for our 2 year old. The host was helpful, friendly, and accommodating. It was about a mile from the city centre which was a fine walk for our family (other children 10 and 7). The breakfast was large and tasty. There was a tray to make tea and coffee which included biscuits and cookies in our room. We enjoyed our stay at Preste Gaarden and Cardiff very much.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinFamilyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

The Preste Gaarden in Cardiff is a lovely old 19th Century house which has a character and old feel to it.
The accomodation was very comfortable and relaxing. Overall the room and en-suite were spotless.
The managers, John and Christina were very friendly, welcoming and hospitable. I'm sorry I never got to meet the owners, John & Sarah Nicholls.
Apart from serving lovely breakfasts, they gave me a good service and gave good recommendations and advice for sights and the local area.
The Preste Gaarden is located in a lovely part of the city and is only 20 minutes walk from Central Cardiff, the Castle, Millennium Stadium to name but a few. There are a few nice bars nearby which serve lovely grub.
This B&B is very good value for money.
If I return to Caedydd/Cardiff, I'll be back!

  • Liked — The welcome from the people and the old character of the house
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NORSEMAN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londongaskell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

Was quite disappointed in this place: although friendly on the phone when I booked, the person who let me in (at night) had clearly had a bit to drink, and was a bit creepy. This creepiness was compounded by the fact that the lock on the my bedroom door did not work. The bathroom (across the hall) for my private use had only been minimally cleaned -- if at all from the previous guest. The television did not work. Breakfast was okay, but I was clearly discouraged from ordering a full breakfast. The only speedy service I got was from the owner (I presume), who bounded down the corridor when I came to finalize the bill. The overall impression was slightly creepy, irresponsible, and greedy.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank gaskellLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2006

We had a great stay here, we had the family room with 2 great double beds in a very spacious room. (en suite) The breakfasts were substantial and we had tea,coffee and biscuits supplied every day in our room. It is also very well placed, with a short walk through the park to the main street in Cardiff. We would definately use this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Nettle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wynford Hotel
Wynford Hotel
#42 of 76 in Cardiff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preste Gaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preste Gaarden

Property: Preste Gaarden
Address: 181 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Preste Gaarden Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing