We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vibrant hotel”
Review of Jolyon's at No. 10

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jolyon's at No. 10
Ranked #8 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Penpedairheol/Wales/UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic vibrant hotel”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I was lucky enough to attend the preview launch of this hotel and was determined to come back with my wife and book a room. We decided in December 2011 to stay in Cardiff to enjoy the festive activites at winter wonderland and the xmas market around St Johns Church. The hotel is ideally situated around a 15min walk from Central train station or 5 mins in a taxi. The hotel is virtually in the city centre and within 5 minutes walk you can be outside the majestic Cardiff Castle or Millenium Stadium. It is in Cathedral road a pleasant wide street which has several pubs and borders the gorgeous park which also houses Glamorgan Cricket Club. The hotel itself has a bar downstairs which is modern and very well furnished. So those looking for a tibble without the chaos of the city centre will be very pleased. There are several hotel room types each individually made. We booked a compact room and found a great offer from a 3rd party internet hotel booking website. The room itself whilst 'compact' was modern and vibrant and had an en suite bathroom which I have included a photo for you all to view. The wife was delighted and commented if only more hotels were to the same standard. There was also an iron, hairdrayer, wall mounted tv, body washes and kettles etc in the hotel room. So to conclude this is the sort of Hotel that Cardiff needs to embrace it is vibrant, modern and the rooms finished to a high standard. The receptionist was very polite and a lad at the bar carried my bags to the room. If you and your partner are looking for a base to explore the city of Cardiff do yourself a favour and book this place !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therovingsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    188
    88
    43
    35
See reviews for
76
292
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Positives - We booked a compact double through Booking.com (for an excellent price). The room was smallish but absolutely fine for us. The room and bathroom were spotless and had everything you need for a short stay.
It was soooo lovely and quiet (may have had something to do with staying on a Sunday) and a good night's sleep was had in the most comfortable bed.
We asked about parking and were able to park on-site so that was a bonus.
It's nice and close to the city centre and a welcome change from the large chain hotels.
The bar area was beautiful - kinda baroque in style (I think).


Negatives
We didn't receive the warmest welcome when we first arrived- 3 people on reception area but no one was very welcoming which is a shame as first impressions count. However, on checking out the girl on reception was extremely friendly and professional.
We were aware that we couldn't check in until 3pm but just wanted to drop our bag off. My husband had to retrieve something from the room before we left to go shopping and he said it appeared to him that the room was ready but we weren't given the key card.
Room was lovely but there were a few issues:
- spotlights over the bed could do with being on a dimmer switch as very bright
- dressing table cannot be used as such as chair is so low and mirror so high that on sitting on the chair all you can see are the plug points (why weren't these below the dressing table)?, you cannot see in the mirror unless you stand up
- thermostat difficult to read/reach
The beautiful bar area was very quiet on a Sunday night and we felt a little awkward as if we were intruding on a private party for the bar staff (who I hasten to add were very friendly and helpful) - I guess they were a little bored, not having anyone to serve

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socialentrepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, and must admit was not disappointed. Beautiful hotel, lovely room, we booked a compact room and were impressed with how well set-out everything was. Loved the bar area, few hotels have a bar area with any atmosphere, but this had it all. Food choice, though limited, was exceptional.
Staff are young, but could not fault any of them, from the bar staff to receptionists, we were very impressed with everything at the hotel and will definitely stay here again when next in Cardiff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyann235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembrokeshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for one night with my husband in November had previously been to Cwtch bar down Cardiff Bay. Arrived early and left our bags as room not ready but the staff did offer to get it ready quicker if we wanted to wait but we had an appointment so just left our bags with reception. On returning to hotel room was well worth waiting for everything in it was top quality, spotlessly clean and individual - not much of a view though, but didn't want to spend long looking out window anyway.
We ate in the bar that night and found food to be more than adequate - bar meal prices, lots of people popping in and out of bar throughout the evening which made for very pleasant atmosphere, we sat all night chatting and people watching would highly recommend for a small group of friends/couples.
Walk into town takes about 10 minutes which is fine if its dry but felt a lot further in the miserable, drizzly November rain.
Breakfast was very good although we were the only ones in the spacious dining room and staff were very attentive.
Overall a beautifully decorated hotel with lots of quirky features, a busy bar and lovely friendly staff - will definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

A girlfriend and I visited Cardiff for a girls' weekend away in November and this hotel had been recommended to us. The hotel refers to itself as a new luxury boutique hotel, so we were excited to experience it.

We stayed in a twin room and although the room was reasonably large, it did not exude the luxury and elegance we expected. The beds were narrower than a camp bed, the bedside table was a tiny shelf barely big enough to hold a mobile phone. The light levels were appallingly low generally, but especially in the bathroom (colour therapy in the bathroom was nice but a bit gimmicky), at the beauty / vanity desk and in the wardrobe - no light in the wardrobe or near it. Flat screen TV was very small for the room size.

The downstairs bar was nice and quite 'homely', a good place to start the evening. However, the bar was not very well stocked with options.

Overall we felt that the staff although friendly, were all very young and not very well trained and did not understand attentive service. For example, when we were half way through checking in, the receptionist answered the phone and left us waiting for 5 mins!

All being said, I think a double room would have created a better experience overall. The hotel is well located and easy to get to the city centre from.

Room Tip: Don't make it a twin - beds are very narrow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelicious_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's at No. 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's at No. 10

Property: Jolyon's at No. 10
Address: 10 Cathedral Road | Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jolyon's at No. 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jolyon's at No.10, the Sister hotel of Jolyon's Boutique Hotel in Cardiff Bay is newly open right in the heart of Cardiff. Whether you’re visiting for a week or a couple of hours, for work or for pleasure, our 21 individually designed lavish rooms, personal service and tastefully created menus are sure to impress.Our furnishings are bespoke, handmade and lovingly restored to create a warm, comfortable and relaxing place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Jolyon's at No. 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyon's At No. 10 Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing