We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of Jolyon's at No. 10

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jolyon's at No. 10
Ranked #9 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had a lovely relaxing weekend in Jolyons. The room was fantastic and the venue close to the city centre which was ideal. Staff were polite and helpful and nothing was too much for either Rhian or James. Food in the bar was lovely with a good atmosphere. Looking forward to our next stay, may even bring the kids along!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SianEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolyons10, Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you agin soon.

with kind regards

Rhian Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay, loved the room, such a luxurious feel about it. The staff were as always really polite and friendly and even though they were clearly very busy made us some gorgeous 'cwtchtails'. Can't wait for our next visit, our ambition is to stay in each of the 21 beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexisHutchings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolyons10, Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you for the lovely review. I'm sure we can certainly help with your mission to stay in all 21 rooms. Plunge pool bath next time?!

With kindest regards

Jolyon's at No10

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The staff at jolyons 10, namely Rhian and James are fantastic!! I recently held my wedding at jolyons after my original venue went bust 5 weeks before the wedding but thanks to these lovely people it was a beautiful day. Nothing was too much for them and they made our day very special. Beautiful venue, beautiful food and stay, beautiful people!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neve2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolyons10, Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was a beautiful day and we are so happy that everything was great for you. We look forward to seeing you soon

With kindest regards

Rhian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

There's a lot to like with this hotel -pleasant rooms, good location -a 5-10 minute walk to Cardiff castle, the Glamorgan cricket ground or the Millenium stadium, helpful staff, nice bar.
The one watchout -if you're going for a weekend stay in the summer, check if there's a wedding on that weekend. If there is, get a room on the top floor or you will have noise problems. Plus a wedding party really slows down the breakfast service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAJAToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolyons10, Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope to see you soon.

With kindest regards

Jolyon's at No 10

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I'm writing this review for my mother who had the unfortunate experience of staying at this "Boutique" hotel for 3 nights in July 2012. She was in a group of friends but I am writing on her behalf regarding her experience- though I understand they didn't think much of it either!

Room - No drawers at all to put clothing. A dangerous step to the bathroom which she nearly missed altogether on one occasion. A sunken type bath which is of no use when you're 80yrs old - OK perhaps she could have checked with hotel beforehand but unfortunately the booking was made by someone else on her behalf.

On returning after being out for the day, tea, coffee, milk etc had not been replenished. When she went to use the cup and saucer discovered this had not been cleaned. She contacted reception to bring her extra supplies which they did and apologised. Two of the spotlights in the bathroom didn't work - perhaps they don't put lights on when they clean?

Breakfast - a complete joke. Served from 0830 - given a cup of tea then left for a good 10mins with no orders being taken for anyone. Waited quite some time to receive an inedible breakfast. The fried egg was like mucus in the middle because it wasn't cooked! Cold mushrooms. The toast worked out to a slice each. If you wanted jam on your toast you had to ask for it. No sauces on the tables or anywhere in sight to go with the food. Overall very bad. Apparently the food was brought down 2 flights of stairs, probably why it was cold. I understand there was a more formal dining room alongside the kitchen - but why this wasn't being used is beyond me.

There didn't appear to be any proper oversight or management at this hotel.

I note from reviews back in May that people complained about the breafast and the response from management was that they take such things seriously and it will improve. CLEARLY NOT!

The hotel is not practical - all frills and silly furniture but nowhere to put anything!

Would never stay here again. Go at your own peril. You have been warned. At £70 a night it's disgusting.

Room Tip: My tip is don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Worldwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolyons10, Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you for your review and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the service and breakfast your mother received. Further training and additional staff has been added to ensure that this doesn’t happen again.

Thank you for raising the point about the draw space; these are valuable information that allows us to make useful changes to the rooms.

We are very fortunate that we have a wide selection of rooms which have a variety of different bathrooms some have plunge pool baths, colour therapy baths, Jacuzzi baths or a shower room. I am sorry for the choice of room your Mother had, we have now trained the staff to be proactive and discuss all room amenities with all of our guests as they book with us, this I’m sure will avoid this problem occurring again. I would also like to stress that had your Mother had let us know there was a problem; we would have done our utmost to change rooms.

The hotel is individually designed with a mix of Georgian, Victorian and 19th Century French furniture which can appeal to certain taste, our website has some lovely images of the furniture and hotel. We believe that our individuality sets us apart from chain hotels and gives a lovely, friendly boutique feel. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are cleaned to an impeccable standard, we apologise for the light bulb not working but sometime after we have checked the room’s light bulbs still blow. We would have instantly changes the bulb had we have been informed.

Thank you

Jolyon’s at No 10

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

There is a lot going for this hotel - car parking, location, room size - but I wonder if the manager has ever stayed in the bedrooms. Mine had a sitting area with no table of any kind, which given the coffee machine, microwave etc is kind of strange - where does crockery etc get put? Then the bedroom - again no side table to put clock, watch, phone etc - just a tiny shelf. Bathroom basin was too shallow and a blue safety light shone all night, which was kind of annoying. A tiny table top ironing board which as there was no table meant it was dangerous to iron.

All these are issues which could and should be addressed by management at relatively little cost. If I were to stay regularly in Cardiff it would put me off the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiraethog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We visited the bar as a group of six on Saturday night all from Cardiff having visited the place previously for drinks. We went for a drink and some bar food arriving at about 8 p.m. The menu showed a good choice and prices were also good we all made our selections, it was very busy and the bar man ( may have been manager ) advised that we wait for the crowd to clear as there were mostly for a party elsewhere in the hotel. The crowd thinned a little but it remained busy but not such that we couldn't get a table.at 8.45 we approached the bar again to order food and the bar person said she would come to the table, at 9.10 she came to the table to tell us the chef had closed the kitchen as it was too busy and we could not have food as he can't cope!! , the manner basically was tough we are busy, not even thank you for trying us. We phoned Diner 77 a local restaurant nearby we have used and they accommodated us straight away even though they were busy where we stayed most welcome until 11.00. Not recommended for food, I normally give second chances but the manner of our brush off means no, if you can't cope why operate a bar and food operation people do it all the time successfully

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Badgersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#11 of 74 in Cardiff
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's at No. 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's at No. 10

Address: 10 Cathedral Road | Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: £70 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jolyon's at No. 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jolyon's at No.10, the Sister hotel of Jolyon's Boutique Hotel in Cardiff Bay is newly open right in the heart of Cardiff. Whether you’re visiting for a week or a couple of hours, for work or for pleasure, our 21 individually designed lavish rooms, personal service and tastefully created menus are sure to impress.Our furnishings are bespoke, handmade and lovingly restored to create a warm, comfortable and relaxing place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jolyon's at No. 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyon's At No. 10 Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing