We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for a boutique experience in Cardiff”
Review of Jolyon's at No. 10

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jolyon's at No. 10
Ranked #6 of 42 Cardiff B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a boutique experience in Cardiff”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This really is a gem of a place in Cardiff. It has a unique character that sets it apart from nearby chain hotels. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the food is excellent, and the atmosphere is laid back and welcoming. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear LadyBabs,

Thank you for your review of our hotel it is great to read that you found our hotel a great place to stay.

We do hope to see you return on your next trip to Cardiff.

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    183
    86
    40
    33
See reviews for
71
289
14
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at Jolyons for two nights for business. The hotel is perfectly located on Cardiff Bay with restaurants and pubs all around.
We had two rooms and both were lovely, with modern bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and we felt like we could ask for their help at anytime. They even let us keep our bags in the room until 1pm on check out day.
The bar/restaurant is very nice and although we only had breakfast there, the food was very good.
The only thing we found difficult was there is no parking and we had quite a lot of kit, their is parking 5 mins walks away for £20 per day.
I would definitely recommend for a short break or business trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl J, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Hannah C,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us at Jolyon's Boutique Hotel Cardiff Bay.

I am please to read that you would recommend our hotel, it would give us great pleasure to see you return upon your next visit to Cardiff Bay.

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My daughter got married on Saturday and we had the reception at Jolyon's. As we come from London we stayed at the hotel from Friday night and the whole weekend till we left at lunchtime on Sunday was wonderful. The staff were all very welcoming and even though Rich, our wedding planner, was not there, the manager looked after us perfectly, sorting out all our last minute queries and making sure the final touches were put to the decorating of the wedding room.
In all we booked 11 rooms for the wedding guests, the rooms were all smart and very comfortable and the food was delicious and plentiful.
I would certainly stay at Jolyon's again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a lovely view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Lilias L,

Thank you very much for your review, I am glad you had a great time with us over the weekend on such a special Occasion.

I do hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I have just celebrated my wedding day at jolyons. Well what can I say......from the moment I arrived on thursday to the time I left on Saturday I was made to feel so special. Nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted by the sweetest receptionist esther who was full of smiles and made us feel so at home immediately. I then met with manager Carl who could not do enough. The wedding day itself was simply a dream with a fabulous wedding breakfast.We chose an oriental hot buffet as our choice of food and met the chef rob to discuss what we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble. All our guests were impressed by the taste , quality and amount of food available.the same was said for our evening selection of food. I can honestly say I felt so special on my special day ans would recommend this venue for a wedding. All the staff were courteous and catered for our every need.i can't thank them enough. Weddings can sometimes be very stressful but I had none of that and felt that everything was in control by them. Thanks again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank twinny08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear twinny08,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy that your big day was made special.

We do hope to see you in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Carl Davies
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here for a one night business trip and was pleasantly surprised. This hotel has been converted from a house and so is a nice change from your standard hotel. My room was gorgeous, beautifully decorated with lovely touches such as the tea tray with duck shaped biscuits and a small jar of sweets. The furniture was old and beautifully restored. The bathroom was very small but again unique, with a step in deep bath (almost like a plunge pool) with a shower head above. This was a hotel I would visit again . The breakfast was great a cold buffet bar and hot breakfast on order.

Free wifi was reliable, fan and iron too.

The hotel is a good 10-15 minutes walk from the station and the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misspickandmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Misspickandmix,

Thank you for your feedback, I am thrilled to read that we met the requirements needed for your business trip.

Thank you for such a great review,

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

More like some rooms above a bar restaurant ! Warm welcome by receptionist on arrival but everything else was second rate. Room small and very hot (but fan provided). Staff more focussed on bar/restaurant than "hotel" (I.e. rooms). Ages to get anyone to answer phone (friend calling me tried 5 times - 3 no answers 1 cut off). Very odd bathroom with raised floor next to bath for WC which had loose seat. No shaving light. 1 of 3 lights not working. Takes more than trendy fittings and flock wall paper to make a hotel - "boutique" or otherwise ! 3 colleagues had similar experiences in different rooms.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterPan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear PeterPan2,

Thank you for your review, I am very disappointed to read of your review and I am sorry our accommodation and service did not meet your expectations.

Jolyon's Boutique Hotels pride our selves with our high standard rooms and our commitment to guest service and it is frustrating to read we did not deliver our usual high standards at this time.

Thank you for your feedback

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My stay was organised for business purposes and as such booked on my behalf. On arrival the receptionist was excellent and could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Having been shown to my room (209) a very good size room with contemporary decor and very clean and tidy with modern fitments. Good size and very comfortable bed. The bathroom was a good size and well equipped and modern. The only negative is the bathroom window is clear glass and looks out to an office block. Be sure to close the blind! In the morning I enjoyed a very pleasant breakfast that was extensive, fresh and well produced. Overall, if you require a good hotel at excellent value in Cardiff, look no further.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 186254David_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear 186254David_B,

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that the hotel met your business trip requirements.

Bathrooms this week are undergoing window frosting due to feedback from our guests.

We do hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.6 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#20 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
1.8 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's at No. 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's at No. 10

Property: Jolyon's at No. 10
Address: 10 Cathedral Road | Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jolyon's at No. 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jolyon's at No.10, the Sister hotel of Jolyon's Boutique Hotel in Cardiff Bay is newly open right in the heart of Cardiff. Whether you’re visiting for a week or a couple of hours, for work or for pleasure, our 21 individually designed lavish rooms, personal service and tastefully created menus are sure to impress.Our furnishings are bespoke, handmade and lovingly restored to create a warm, comfortable and relaxing place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Jolyon's at No. 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyon's At No. 10 Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing