We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly great experience”
Review of Sopra 73 - CLOSED

Sopra 73
Description: We aim to bring a celebration of food created with love, bringing you classic Welsh, Italian and French flavours and carefully curated wines for the good people of Cardiff.
Restaurant details
Description: We aim to bring a celebration of food created with love, bringing you classic Welsh, Italian and French flavours and carefully curated wines for the good people of Cardiff.
Reviewed 22 May 2022 via mobile

What a find this restaurant is-incredibly good food served by a great team of front of house staff. The chef creates true culinary delights and there is the added bonus of not being in the city centre.
This place is definitely going on my favourites for celebrating life list!

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank Shonagh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2022 via mobile

First time her for us. Fantastic food and an excellent wine list. Had the specials for both starter and main. The mussels were stunning and so was the Duck confit. Staff were lovely too. The whole experience was top notch h. Best restaurant meal I’ve had in this country in many years. Have already booked another visit. Wonderful!

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank GrandTour27060559481
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2022 via mobile

The four of us had an amazing meal and can’t wait for a return visit. The unusual starter of globe artichoke heart with egg mimosa and Tahini dressing was superb. This was followed by the best Bouillabaisse I have ever tasted. It was so light but full of flavour with a great selection of fish. I could not resist a dessert and chose the coconut panna cotta with brandied pineapple pieces. The meal was complemented by some excellent wines. Service was warm and efficient and welcoming.

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank Pomart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2022

We have tried to find a typical French restaurant with typical french dishes in Cardiff. Sopra 73, with a clean and modern interior, has a menu that reminds us of true french southern cuisine, well presented and very tasty. There is a an assortments of wine. We both had mediterranean fish soup, my wife went for a superb confit of duck leg and I had venison all this with a very tasty sauce. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whithchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2022

Padrig Jones established a great reputation at Le Gallois in Pontcanna and has now reestablished himself here in Whitchurch. The upstairs restaurant is smart if a little un prepossessing . We ate at lunch time on a Friday and the choice of fayre was very impressive. A good choice set menu with 3/4 options for any of the three courses; a full a la carte menu with again a good range of options and then some daily specials.
Francis the sommelier and wine merchant knew his business and we ordered a very fruity red from languedoc . Between the two of us we had scallops and Pembroke oysters- served with simple but very tasty dressings. For main I had a cod fillet in a herb crumb topping and my partner had a 6 oz fillet steak- cooked to perfection. The accompanying broccoli and spinach vegetables were an excellent partner to both. I finished with an afrigato The bill, some £120 included 2 glasses of white wine- delicious-as an aperitif- and the red. The food is classic French cooking with a squeeze of Italian, and the wine list off centre but interesting. Excellent food and excellent service.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
drummerchef, Owner at Sopra 73, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2022

Thank you Gordon for your kind review of Sopra 73, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sopra 73 also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.