We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special birthday ruined”
Review of Mia Porto Due

Mia Porto Due
Ranked #70 of 1,246 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A special birthday ruined”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

£300 for 4 pieces of cubed meat on a skewer 12 chips and a bit of salad on your plate,15 mins wait for a custard tart and a blob of ice cream £5.50.14 of us was hoping for good night out at porto's restaurant instead we went home very Hungary

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gagsy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    109
    35
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

What a disaster! We went here for a family birthday, the restaurant was only half full and in arriving was asked to wait while the waiter went outside. We were just deciding whether to leave or stay when a second waiter came and asked us if he could help. We were shown to a table at the back of the restaurant where a dishevelled man was shooed away from. The only upside of being sat here was the fact we were well away from the evenings entertainment, an elderly man attempting to play the guitar and sing karaoke, sometimes he even played the same song was actually being played in the karaoke!! We waited what seemed a lifetime for our starters and after repeatedly asking for a jug of water we received this also. The mains were a big let down, the pizzas were burnt and tasted odd, the steak was stringy and although the skewered steak was edible it was a small amount and came a good while after the chips and vegetables which were stone cold. All this whilst watching the dishevelled man who had returned stood at the end of our table sniffing a carrier bag full of god knows what! My husband returned from the toilet and asked for the bill without considering a desert, when asked why he said that the chocolate cake was on the floor outside the mens and had really gone off the idea, that and seeing skewers stored behind a bin! Needless to say we won't be returning, which is such a shame.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isuldwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeguMedia, Public Relations Manager at Mia Porto Due, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant and your comments are appreciated. We have looked into this matter and have put measures in place to ensure our food remains at a high standard and our service remains top notch.

Please visit our facebook page for details of offers and competitions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing service, amazing food, how often can I return!?”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have never reviewed anything on trip advisor before but felt I should after my visit to 'portos' this time. I have been there frequently over the years so decided to go back for our 'date night' last Thursday.
We were greeted by very smartly dressed staff who were very attentive to our needs all night, (attentive without being annoying, just enough). I believe their names were Darren and Felix. We were immediately offered drinks and placed our order for food quite quickly considering it was so busy there. The whole atmosphere of the place was very relaxed and welcoming and the staff were very friendly, engaging in conversation with us which really made us feel like we were part of a family environment.
After a very short wait our food came, I had espetadas (a skewered kebab which hangs in front of you on the table) and the other half had a steak. Everything looked fresh and delicious, the smell was divine! I can say with high confidence levels that this was one of the best meals I had been served in a restaurant in a long time! We had planned on leaving after our food but decided to stay for cocktails afterwards as we felt at home there. We were lucky enough to meet the owner who was wonderful and also welcoming, a man who clearly cared about his staff and customers alike.
100% we will definitely be returning to this fabulous little family run piece of gold!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerryann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeguMedia, Public Relations Manager at Mia Porto Due, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant and your comments are appreciated.

Please visit our facebook page for details of offers and competitions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great lunch would visit again”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My daughter chose this restaurant for our lunch as she had visited previously. We we ordered drinks as soon as we were seated. We had the anti pasta that was delicious. We both had the per peri chicken skewers, these were cooked perfectly. IWe would recommend this restaurant for a substantial lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeguMedia, Public Relations Manager at Mia Porto Due, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant and your comments are appreciated.

Please visit our facebook page for details of offers and competitions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Portuguese/Mediterranean restaurant in Cardiff City Centre”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Ate here pre-match on a busy Friday evening ahead of Amlin Cup Final at nearby Cardiff Arms Park. Restaurant is one of 12 in the Brewey Quarter development, a mix of bars and other chain restaurants. Chose this one as thought it looked a bit different. Restaurant is quite small inside, but comfortable. Foood quality when it came was good, but slightly over priced for the portion size. Service however was frustratingly slow despite the restaurant being only half full. OK, but wouldn't rush back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chester_UKCitykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeguMedia, Public Relations Manager at Mia Porto Due, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant and your comments are appreciated. We have looked into this matter and have put measures in place to ensure our food remains at a high standard and our service remains top notch.

Please visit our facebook page for details of offers and competitions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mia Porto Due also viewed

 

Been to Mia Porto Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing