We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would thoroughly recommend”
Review of Mia Porto Due

Mia Porto Due
Ranked #85 of 1,223 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would thoroughly recommend”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Chose this restaurant in preference to some of the other restaurant chain options in the area. Glad we did, it was absolutely the right decision. Relaxing interior with a nice warm welcome. Staff were attentive without being obtrusive. Great selection of Italian and Portuguese dishes available. My wife and I started with the Anti Pasto and the soup of the day, followed by the mixed espetada (wonderful) and a delightful Portuguese dish - Bifinhos. Greedily we finished off with the homemade Tiramisu, great portion size and very tasty. All accompanied by a wonderful red wine - Barolo, it really was a great experience. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JQT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeguMedia, Public Relations Manager at Mia Porto Due, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant and your comments are appreciated.

Please visit our facebook page for details of offers and competitions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    106
    35
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“worth a try”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We treid Mia Porto Due as it was open later than your average and it was late. It was quite quiet but then it was late. food was decent. cheesey garlic pizza for starters was nice enough. For mains I had home made lasagne, this was actually home made, good portion size and tasty, my friend had a penne amaciana (think thats how it is spelt) this was also very tasty and a decent portion size, my partner had the carbonara this was actually amazing. for dessert we all had the home made cheesecake. This also looked home made and was a large portion size. it tasted absolutely amazing too. Okay so where did they go wrong??? The waiter was friendly enough but not really engaging at all, There was only one toilet in the restaurant and it was not the nicest. nearly 3 quid for a large coke/lemonade and it was out of a bottle and not at all cold, no drink refills were offered and to get to the upstairs tables u had to walk past the kitchen, the door was held open by a fire extinguisher and outside the kitchen there was 2 fridges and a chopping board (outside the kitchen in narrow corridor) and the seating upstairs looked cramped. that aside the food cannot be knocked at all :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeguMedia, Public Relations Manager at Mia Porto Due, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant and your comments are appreciated.

Please visit our facebook page for details of offers and competitions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"disappointing"”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Poor service, the wrong food brought to our table,and a long wait for drinks. The food was not particularly exciting or warm and to add insult to injury a service charge was added to our bill for three people (needless to say we did not pay it as they did not earn it)
We won't be back when we return to Cardiff again and would not recommend

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrisbrown70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeguMedia, Public Relations Manager at Mia Porto Due, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant and your comments are appreciated. We have looked into this matter and have put measures in place to ensure our food remains at a high standard and our service remains top notch.

Please visit our facebook page for details of offers and competitions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not That Bad”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a steak meal last Sunday. It was a change as I never had a Blue steak served on a hot plate/slate still cooking. I think the idea is you cut it up into smaller cuts and eat when its cooked enough for your own taste. Steak was not that big. Staff were very good. One small bad point, the gents is up stairs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geecee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeguMedia, Public Relations Manager at Mia Porto Due, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant and your comments are appreciated.

Please visit our facebook page for details of offers and competitions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A special birthday ruined”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

£300 for 4 pieces of cubed meat on a skewer 12 chips and a bit of salad on your plate,15 mins wait for a custard tart and a blob of ice cream £5.50.14 of us was hoping for good night out at porto's restaurant instead we went home very Hungary

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gagsy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mia Porto Due also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Mia Porto Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing