We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe went on a wrong day!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Neill's Pub

O'Neill's Pub
Ranked #30 of 77 Nightlife in Cardiff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You'll always find a warm welcome at O'Neill's in Trinity Street in Cardiff. Ours is a place where you're free to go with the flow. Where great food and drink is always served with a smile. And where, no matter whether you're a regular or a newcomer, our friendly team will make you feel at home. Irish pubs are known for their hospitality - a point we love proving here at O'Neill's in Trinity Street in Cardiff. We are one of the best pubs in Cardiff for Irish food, drink and atmosphere. Come and see for yourself - drop by for a bite to eat, to watch some sport, to enjoy our live music or just for the craic. Slainte!
Valletta,Malta
Level Contributor
221 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Maybe went on a wrong day!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Went on a Monday night for dinner & some pints afterwords....
The place is nice,Food is OK & Quality of Beer was great...but it lacks atmosphere....it was very quite about 3 tables in total ..staff seemed bored playing with mobile phones....!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    6
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Pub Grub in The City Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

You'll do well not to confuse this O'Neill's with the one on Cardiff's St Mary Street. This pub on Trinity Street (a 10 min. walk from The Central Station) nestles cheek by jowl with Cardiff's medieval St John's Church. And if that conjures up a cosy establishment that's comfortable with itself and in what it offers in the way of excellent food and drink, and if that's what you are looking for, then you'll have found exactly what you're looking for in this pub. But a few days ago I had steak & Guinness pie with colcannon (-a must!), peas and gravy. This was followed by chocolate fudge cake, all washed down with a pint of Magners cider. Tremendous! Good value too. Add to that staff who while being exceptionally friendly weren't at all intrusive in any way. And cleanliness that's much more than reasonable for a pub. First rate toilet facilities. So if for whatever reason you're in central Cardiff and you fancy something to eat (and/or something to drink) then you could certainly do much, much worse than make your way into this
lovely pub in the heart of town.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Nice place shame about the toilets!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We had a good night out for a works do here. The food was better than I expected and it has a relaxed friendly atmosphere with good drink and excellent value. I can recommend it and would have given 4 points except the toilets were in a very poor state, which was a shame.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Heisenberg_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treforest, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than big O'Neills!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I went with a group of friends on a Friday evening. Unlike most pubs in Cardiff on a Friday night, it had a great atmosphere and music but I wasn't at risk of being squished at the bar! I ordered the lamb shoulder with vegetables (including colcannon, which I've never had before and was pretty nice). The food was great but the lamb was small and very fatty (which you can expect to some extent with lamb). Also, I don't think my carrots had actually been cooked, as they were very hard. However, the gravy was really nice and at under a tenner, the food was a steal! Only really bad point was the state of the toilets but nothing I haven't seen in many other pubs so it wouldn't put me off going back. The friendly bar staff were a refreshing change and I'll definitely be returning :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AJLynham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Guinness!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Ah 'Little O'Neills' - This place has the best Guinness in Cardiff!! Been here quite often as I live close. The food is lovely, especially on quiet days! Live music is always good, open mic nights are great! There's also a quiz!!! One of Cardiff's little gems!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RowlandsKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Neill's Pub also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to O'Neill's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing