We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife and myself had a thoroughly first rate stay at this hotel over the Easter weekend. Great location with wonderful views over Cardiff, helpful and interested staff, modern well appointed room, food was of high quality and well presented. Tip, if you stay over a weekend ask for a quiet room as the hotel is extremely popular for wedding parties!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonchris28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We pride ourselves on great customer service, so our team will be dlighted to read your comments.

I am very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay over the Easter period and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    180
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
119
199
19
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

New House Country Hotel is by far the best situated Hotel in Cardiff it is on the outskirts situated just North of the M4 with ease of access to the city or motorway for further excertions. The staff are very polite and helpful and the rooms spacious and very well kept. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. Food at the resteraunt is excellent and very reasonably priced with a great atmosphere and professional staff . To be honest I will always try to book here as my first choice without a second thought

Room Tip: South side with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your lovely comments.

We pride ourselves on great customer service and fantastic food and I am delighted to hear that we do this for you on every occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwood
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

being on a business trip, this is the perfect place to get into a countryside setting after a long day downtown or the office. however be prepared that some wedding is kind of always on. The 3 times i stayed there wedding preps or highly excited guests where always my company. You can expect some fun and noise, especially at night, so make sure to choose a room in the "new" part facing the cardiff valley to get some sleep before 3 am :-)
Breakfast buffet is average and suits all british standards, free wifi for guests is fast and reliable. i did enjoy the fireplace seating area for drinks before dinner very much

Room Tip: go for a room in the "new" part facing the Cardiff valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have been to The New House twice recently - once for a work event and for lunch last week.
The redecorating is lovely and done to a high standard.
The staff are lovely and the food delicious.
Well done.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHouseHotel, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed both staying at the new house and coming back to us for lunch.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

What a fabulous venue for our Daughters wedding here. Highly recommended. The views are stunning- and food fantastic- but the staff are the best thing. The wedding was made special due to the staff here. Each and every member of staff catered for our every need- and nothing was too much trouble. The wedding was in the marquee with fab countryside views.
Superb day !

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic and very spacious and clean. The bridal suite is absolutely huge and has fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHouseHotel, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are so pleased that your daughter chose our hotel so we could help celebrate her special day and are delighted that it was a day enjoyed by all.

We hope to welcome you back to the New House Hotel in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Lovely hotel. Welcoming staff. Fantastic view of city in distance. Room spacious and all usual complementaries. Breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwmscwtilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHouseHotel, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Overlooking the bay and city of Cardiff, this hotel is a MUST stay if you are ever in the area.
The service received from all staff is absolutely perfect, so polite and helpful, in particular the breakfast staff I must add.
The food is outstanding, and the whole hotel is impeccably clean, warm and feels like home from home.
There are many lounges with open fires roaring in them too - which I loved.
I stayed in both the Squires Room and the Baroness Room above reception in the main house, and to sit looking out over the fountain and gardens felt so so relaxing!
Excellent value for money, and hits all the spots, for leisure or business as they have great conference facilities too - a great place to do Blue Sky Thinking I reckon!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms I would say will impress you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHouseHotel, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you chose the New House Hotel for your recent stay and that it was an outstanding experience!

We look forrward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,225 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,754 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Property: New House Country Hotel
Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing